Keep Calm and Read the Chapter!

And another chapter of Avatar is posted. When I look at where I am with regard to the writing this story, verses what I’ve posted, I feel a little guilty. Also, when you read this chapter, it’s my hope that you’re neither pissed nor confused about what the hell is going on.

I feel guilty because I’m probably twenty chapters ahead of what you’re reading. Okay, eighteen. And I don’t post all that often. But the thing is, the story’s become complex. There are a lot of moving parts and I’m afraid if I don’t give myself enough leeway to make sure that all those moving parts don’t crash into each other, that they’ll… well, crash into each other. This would annoy you.

Even with all my caution, I’m afraid the moving parts are gonna crash into something they shouldn’t. I never meant for Avatar to be this complex. I mean, it was just supposed to be about some guy and a sex goddess and lots of sex. I think I’ve delivered on the sex, but all of these plot lines! Yeesh!

You’re probably not going to want to hear this, but the fact is that Avatar is my practice piece. I’ve learned a huge amount about how to write while writing it. At least, it seems that way to me. If it turns out that you don’t think so well… don’t buy any of my books. Another truth is the fact that I could take any of the plot lines that currently exist — the Costas, the stuff with Sensei (which I don’t think you’ve read yet), the direction that Jane is going, the Tankers… any of it really, and turn it into a full length book. So the trick is to give you enough info to make the story flow, but not take any seriously deep detours.

This new chapter might make you wonder about that, and rightfully so. This portion of the story was meant to stand alone, and then I changed my mind because it dove-tailed so well into the main story. So there you have it. Another plot line. But it does come together, I promise.

From where I am in the story, things are finally getting to the point where I can start to resolve well, pretty much everything. Once I do, and Establishment is finished, I have no idea what I’ll do next. Avatar will remain a closed world (meaning no sanctioned fanfic), at least for the foreseeable future. Hell, I might even write a few Amazon-worthy tales and put ‘em up for sale. I’m sure they’d sell. At least one or two copies. Or not.

So anyway, I guess my point is that you guys are my beta testers. Avatar didn’t, and isn’t, being written like a book. A book is proofed and finished before it’s seen by the intended audience. For me though, it’s better than a book because you guys email me and TELL me things about it while it’s in progress. So I guess it’s more of a live ARC.

So anyway, enjoy the new chapter. Feel free to let me know what you think of it. And please accept my apologies for the times between postings. Once I’ve actually finished the story, I’ll be posting a hell of a lot more frequently.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Avatar, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Keep Calm and Read the Chapter!

  1. N says:

    I’m not sure how it fits in with the existing Avatar, except she is obviously some sort of Priestess already (or the effects on Madame Wu and the Doc seemed a bit extreme). But I’m most puzzled why it is chapter 69A?

    Anyway, always good to get some more, and I don’t want Avatar to end, but I do want it to keep moving onwards. So very glad to hear that there are loads more chapters in the pipeline.

    • Wilson says:

      Alicia is what i think the last person in the First Circle.

    • N says:

      So, I now see that the naming pattern is anything to do with Alicia’s thread is an A (B, C) chapter. Simple but had me confused the first time.

      And maybe I’m misreading, but it seems one of the later chapters there was a hint that Alicia might be intended for the Film Actress (sorry names are not my thing).

      Good work on getting some more chapters out and hope you can keep up the releases.

  2. Peter says:

    I don’t have any problem seeing how Alicia’s arc could fit into the larger picture, perhaps in several different ways. I know you are many chapters ahead of where we are, but I almost wonder if Alicia has the potential to go beyond being a Priestess; perhaps as a female Avatar to anchor Ken. Just thinkin’ out loud here.

  3. N says:

    Oh yes, I can see ways it _could_ fit in, but no idea or evidence that my ideas would be likely. An interesting thought about a female avatar, but I had the impression there would only be one avatar. Maybe that was wrong. And of course it has been mentioned there will be multiple circles, so this could be something that will only briefly intersect the main circle.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Well, there is only one Avatar, that’s true. And yes, there will be multiple circles. All will be come clear. Eventually :)

  4. a fan says:

    Another month has passed and I wonder when I can continue reading my favourite story?

  5. Quincey Rod says:

    Some time ago Ken asked Lea why she chose a male Avatar if females produce a more pure energy. She responded something like “because there’s already something on the other end of the equation” (or something in that style), hinting that some female version of sorts of the Avatar exists.

    I have no idea where in the story it is and am too lazy to look through all 100+ posted chapters so far (book 1 + 2), but it’s there, trust me.

    I’ve been following avatar since day 1 when it got on the internet, and the only thing i wish for was for someone of us reading it winning the lottery and sending DarkPen a large amount of money so he’d keep writing it ;)

    Quite frankly, the last 2 chapters were a surprise, but a nice one. Though i’ll hate waiting for another chapter 1(+) month(s), i’ll still go hit the refresh button 5 times a day after 3-4 weeks seeing if there is another chapter posted.

    As for the beta testers, ok, something that still troubles me. NIS + Tina/Cindy never got quite explained :P hehe

    One thing i’d wish for is that Ken would get his shit together and pull his head out of his ass and do something about Costa, Tankers and other shit. But ok, that’s me, and i’m not known for my patience :)

    As for the writing … i have no reference on what is good or not, i only know that i love the style where i also get a very nice story to read plus some great ideas to use on my own sub :)

    Anyways hope life’s being good to you and Avatar keeps coming.

    Quincey

    • a fan says:

      I think you got it wrong there. the female side of the equation – as I understood it – was not some female avatar, but lea herself

  6. Michael says:

    Hi!
    i finished reading part 70 a few minutes ago, great and promising as always! Please don’t let us wait this long again, i want to “inhale” all about the Tina/Cindy/Sarah setup as soon as possible, i really love your totally arousing stories and the different girl/girl combinations! I hope, Sarah loves some Watersports, there wheren’t many characters like Ari lately…

    greetings from Germany!

  7. joelk says:

    Man – you’re killing me! Hope to see more soon! Seriously: thank you for this terrific story.

  8. a fan says:

    Hi
    Nice developments there – looking forward to how the sensei situation and the antonia situation evolve. After having updated nearly weekly (I am spoilt now) I wanted to ask when I can read the next chapter?

    Great work btw

Leave a Reply

