Time… stands still. NOT.

Holy shit! I haven’t written a blog post since OCTOBER?? Damn how time flies.

Well, you all know that in December I posted a chapter a week, which was a great thing. Now it’s March and I haven’t posted anything since. Not here on my blog and not on SOL. You might be wondering why. Or you might not. Of course, I’m assuming that if you’re reading this, you might be a bit curious about what’s going on.

A number of things, actually.

Life, for one thing, hasn’t been all that great. There are the normal ups and downs, but the downs have been a bit deeper, and the ups don’t seem to go up very far. Much of that has to do with my job — which is seriously shit-tastic. But it’s a shit-tastic thing that pays the bills. They fucked me over pretty badly this year, and because of that — and our awesome congress (they don’t deserve the capital C), I don’t know if I’ll have a job much longer. If I don’t, things will spiral downward pretty quickly. My wife and I actually need the medical benefits that the job provides and I rather doubt I need to tell any of you just how fucked up the job market is right now, even, or perhaps especially, in the tech sector where I work.

To add to the fun, after a several month decline, one of our pets died. I know that to some people their pets don’t mean much, but to my wife and I they are good friends and part of our little family. The loss of one of them — especially a young one who should have had many years ahead of him — was very difficult. The day we had to put him to sleep was especially unpleasant, since I started out that day with chest pains and an ER visit. I’ve already had one heart attack, so chest pains are nothing to fool around with. Fortunately the pain was from stress (both work and home), but unfortunately, when I left the ER EIGHT hours later, I had to go home, gather up our sick pet and take him to the vet with my wife. Not a banner day and the worst Valentines day ever.

I’m really not happy that my life has turned into such a fucking drama. I hate drama and I’d hoped that by this point in my life things would smooth out. They haven’t though, and in spite of all our work, they might never. Certainly if I lose my job things will get very bad.

I stopped work on Avatar a while ago. I have things all plotted out and thought I was rolling along pretty well, but there are some elements of the story that just don’t seem to be coming together the way I think they should. So I put it aside for a while in hopes that I’d be able to take a fresh look at it. Then shit started falling apart and there were many weeks of no writing at all.

The good news is that I’ve started to write again, but the bad news is that it hasn’t been on Avatar. I know I will finish the story, but again, the when will depend on how life goes. If I lose my job, I doubt I’ll be writing much of anything since I’ll be putting a lot of time and effort into searching for a new one. Which will suck for any number of reasons — not the least of which is that I really don’t like what I do for a living. Not any more. Corporations run by idiots with MBAs have seen to that.

Anyway, I have been writing, and if things go well and my life doesn’t detonate on me again, I’ll get back to Avatar, sooner rather than later. If I don’t get back to Avatar in the short term, well, the book I’m currently working on seems to be coming along pretty well, so maybe you’ll go buy that once it’s out. Or not. Times are tough all over.

Finally, I’d like to thank people for the emails reminding me that I haven’t posted Avatar in a while. And I’m serious about that. It lets me know that people haven’t forgotten it, although I’m certain I’ve lost quite a few readers since I’ve been so fucking slow about getting the story out. I’m sorry about that, and to those who have stuck around, thank you very much. And since you reminded me, I went back into the story this morning, edited another chapter and put it up. Enjoy!

And again, thank you.

(The title of this post is a reference to a Rush song, in case you were wondering.)

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Avatar, Social. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time… stands still. NOT.

  1. Ralph says:

    Life is a reality check. What we take for granted can change so easily. Good luck with finding peace, security and happiness.
    Ralph (New Zealand)

  2. scrapped says:

    Love the stories, One author Ive been following for over a decade updates only on newyears and i still follow his story. Hope things turn up for you and your family

  3. Costin Radu says:

    I’m sorry to hear the “not so good” news. I’m also glad you’re back. You managed in these years to overcome worse situations and I’m sure you’ll do good this time. Just keep the good work for all of us that stay around from the times of Avatar – beginnings .
    All the best wishes,
    Costin_rv

  4. Nikki says:

    Sorry about the crap news. You should publish Avatar. It may not be a huge seller. but it is well written and I for one would buy a copy.
    Hope things improve.
    Cheers
    Nikki_K

Leave a Reply

