Tic-Toc

Where have I been?

First, I’d like to say that I’m sorry I haven’t posted any Avatar. It’s still there, sitting on my mental shelf and on my hard drive, asking when the hell I’m going to continue it. The only answer I have is that I’ll continue it as I can. I still have probably 20 chapters or so finished ahead of what’s been posted, but I just haven’t the time to post them.

I haven’t been writing much — certainly not enough — and I miss it. Just the other day, I spent some time writing part of Cindy’s initiation into the Circle, but before that? Months, I think. Hell, I finished a book over the summer — including 99% of the editing — and I haven’t even gotten that to the publisher. Well, to be fair, there is more than one reason for that, and a big one is that I really like this book, and I want a good cover for it. I just can’t afford a good cover, and the publisher, as much as I like ‘em, will just slap any old shit on it and call it done. Also, I’m a bit worried, because I really like the book and the universe, but you guys might not. That would suck.

The main reason, though, that I haven’t been writing is because of (surprise!) my job. It’s nothing short of horrid. I could go on for hours on just how bad it is, but that wouldn’t help anyone. What would help would be one of the main reasons I haven’t had time to write: I’m on a job hunt.

There are reasons, very good reasons, why I stayed with that shit hole as long as I did. I’m still there, actually, but now I’m also actively looking for a new position, which is a full time job in and of itself. But, as usual, nothing is simple. It isn’t just that it’s still a crappy economy (and I’d love to personally thank our idiot Congress for that — with a special thanks for the treasonous group called the Tea Party. Yes, what they did recently was treason, and if you or I did it, we’d never see the light of day again.), it’s that my decision to stay in the shit hole had consequences. One of which is that my skills are seriously out of date. Software development is anathema to the idiots who don’t understand that EVERYTHING we do there runs on software. My chosen career is not only ignored, but actively denigrated by my management. Lovely people.

And no, I’m not just whining about this, I’m fixing it. But it takes time to bring back rusty skills, then update them. This is much easier when you’re twenty, but you’ll find as you get older, it ain’t so easy. For one thing, most people don’t want to hire you. For another, companies want it all, and they want it all RIGHT NOW! Doesn’t matter if you’ve got most of what they want, it’s not enough. And they can be choosy because the economy sucks and people who work for cheep on H1B visas flood the market. It infuriates me, but again, I’m not going there.

IF I can get some time between relearning my trade, working in the shit hole and trying to accomplish other goals (like perhaps getting our house sold and maybe moving somewhere warmer), I’ll polish off that book and try and get it out. I’ll probably get out a chapter or two of Avatar before the end of the year as well. And I’m sorry that it’s so slow. I’ve been saying that for years, but it’s still true. My work life has destroyed so very much of the rest of my life, but I’m determined to get it together and get the fuck out.

So you’ll be seeing more Avatar — I’ve put too much into it to just let it go. But I’m afraid you’re going to have to bare with me for a while longer.

 

 

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tic-Toc

  1. HP says:

    Still waiting patiently. Hang in there and look forward to better things – I know how much job hunting sucks!

  2. LR says:

    Thanks for the update. I’m glad to hear you’re getting yourself out of such a terrible situation. I hope things work out for you, and you manage to find the time to get yourself caught up and in a new job. Personally, as much as I love Avatar, I’d much rather you get yourself straightened out before worrying too much about posting/writing more. Now, that’s because once you do get yourself into a better position you’ll have more time for other pursuits… but -shrugs- Anyways, hope things start getting better for you. In the meantime, I’ll just go back to rereading all your stuff… again.

  3. Doornail says:

    Good to hear from you, keep positive and know that you have fans waiting for your return.

  4. Some Guy says:

    Stay sane, find a job and happiness, will still be waiting here for your return, don’t worry.

  5. bdream2 says:

    Good to see you are still there and that there might be some light on the horizon. Hope it all goes well and you can get some more writing done, preferably Avatar of course. N.

  6. Bish08 says:

    Just wanted to say that I love you Avatar universe. Been an avid reader of it till i ran out of chapters a while ago, actually get delirious with excitement when there’s a new chapter available (maybe I’m a little crazy, I admit that ;-P). Well, hope your work situation pans out, I have a feeling I know what thats like, and I eagerly await the next chapters, whenever they come. Keep it up.
    If you looking for a little ‘motivation’ I suggest you check out James Clear’s blog. Been reading his stuff this year and found that his advise helps me keep to my commitments and goals (just not always to your deadlines though).

    Once again, thanks for the great writing.

Leave a Reply

