The Politics of Sex

I get a fair amount of email from folks. Most of it is complimetary, some contains suggestions, or comment on the fact that there are still mistakes in what I’m posting. I don’t mind those, BTW. It’s good that these things get pointed out so that I can fix them.

I’ve had several people write me to say they’re dropping the story because they don’t like the type of sex I write about. That’s fine too. I mean, c’mon, not everyone is into this stuff.

However, not since I wrote the story, “The Law” have I received an email like the one I just got. First, let me state for the record that I feel people should be free to express their opinions. This person certainly did. I’d like to also say that I respect that the person didn’t do it anonymously. I got an email addy to respond to — which I did.

While I respect their right to have the opinions that they expressed to me, I certainly don’t agree with them. At this point, you migh be wondering just what the email said. Well, I won’t post it, or even quote part of it. After all, it’s not like the person cussed me out, and I consider posting someone’s email bad form.

They did tell me though, that my political opinions aren’t worth shit (my paraphrase) and that I should stick to writing about BDSM. The person also suggested that I join moveon.org and Micheal Moore, because it was obvious that I didn’t know anything about politics.

Folks, I’m here to tell you that this story is going to contain political commentary. And it is not going to be very complimentary toward either the present administration or certian main stream religions. If that’s something that you don’t agree with, or don’t think you can stomach reading about, then my suggestion is that you stop reading after book one. It’s going to get a lot more prominant in book two, and if I get to finish the number of books for these characters I have planned, the direction I take this ‘world’ I’ve created might really piss you off.

Hell, it’s not like I’m getting paid to write this story. In fact, trying to get paid to write this kind of story is getting harder all the time due to the current (and, unfortunately, future) administration’s policies in this country. Here’s an article that I read this morning, not too long after I was told to keep my political commentary out of my own story:

http://www.wired.com/news/culture/0,1284,65678,00.html?tw=wn_story_page_prev2

It’s a short, excellent artical, and I’d suggest you read it.

In the USA, the First Amendment is important. It should apply to political writings as well as ones about sex. Lately — or perhaps not so lately — that freedom is being significantly abriged by politicians, large corporations and their mouth pieces (can you say MPAA, RIAA, SCO, DirectTV, FCC?).

Avatar will continue to contain references to changes in American society, and events in our society, that I consider negative. Personally, I don’t believe my handling of these subjects has been very heavy handed. I hope not. But those themes are not going away, either in our society or in this story.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

