More things for me to think about

I know that this should be painfully obvious to me. And I suppose that I actually even realized it a while ago, somewhere in the back of my brain. But it was only this morning that it hit me.

People see stories in *very* different ways.

As I said, this should be obvious to me. What made it not so obvious is that, even after all this time, I’m still not used to thinking of myself as a writer. I have no idea why that makes a difference, but it does.

I received several emails from people about the latest chapter I posted. Some were a simple ‘thanks, well done’, while others went into depth about the plot, or commented on specific characters. Since I look at the story from a rather holistic point of view, I tend not to concentrate on any one character. Well, okay, maybe the main character and Arianwen. But you get my point. BTW, I love *all* your emails and it doesn’t matter to me if they’re one liners or several paragraphs. I also try to answer them all, unless the answer is dealt with in the blog.

I suppose that I shouldn’t have been surprised by the fact that people get different things out of the story. After all, I wrote another story called ‘The Law’ with a very specific purpose in mind. Some folks got it. Some were pissed off by it. And some *completely* missed the point. Don’t know if that was a failing on my part or not. As I’ve stated before, I’m not a pro πŸ™‚

Now that I wrote this, I came up with a question for you guys: Which character do you like the best/least?

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More things for me to think about

  1. Anonymous says:

    Which character do you like the best/least?
    I love them all.
    Ken because he is the focus/protagonist of the story.
    Jane because she is so hot and so dedicated.
    Ari aka The Minx, because she is so young and has taken so strongly to her new life.
    As we get away from the core characters there is less information about the characters and there is, as yet, less definition.
    My least favorite is probably Sally. She seems to be less real than the others. She also seems more vulnerable than the others.
    – gordon

  2. Anonymous says:

    Character assassination!
    Ha ha!
    Hey!
    I been readin’ this Avatar since October; I like it! The world that your characters move through is frighteningly similar to the one I live in; I should probably qualify that! πŸ™‚ I am not into BDSM, at least, not as a personal life style. I AM into reading about it when it is handled well and with heartfelt realism. You do that quite well!
    The similarities between your created world and the one I live in is to do with certain political and religious realities. I find your treatments of each arena to be in keeping with a paradigm of taking personal responsibility for all of your life, not just the part that organized religion and constituted government would prefer to leave to you.
    Your characters seem headed toward a clearly defined ethos that would put them fully in command of the lives they prefer to lead. That any such life is at odds with our current cultural madness is a given. I look around the planet and cannot find any developed nation that does not indulge in telling the populace how to what to when to where to why to who to do.
    It do get tiresome.
    What a joy it is to read stories such as yours that show imaginative ways for people to maintain ownership of their destinies. Especially whilst the characters work out serious and profound issues in their own lives.
    For these and other reasons, I like Ken the best. And I like Ari’s Mother the least. That was easy! πŸ™‚
    I pray that you are well and that each day brings you ample time to visit with these lovely people you’ve got inside your head. After all, the more time you spend with them, the more I get to read about them. πŸ™‚ It’s a win win deal. lol
    God Bless and keep you alway.
    And thanks for sharing this at old Lazeez’ place.
    Arthur (Khanundrum)

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Character assassination!
      The politics are something that will have more of an impact on the story as time moves forward. If I ever do books 3 and 4 of this saga, they’ll be playing a big part.
      I’ve started reading Al Steiner’s ‘A Perfect World’. It’s also on SOL and it takes future events in a slightly differed, but no less frightening, direction that where Avatar will go. It’s a good read, and I recomend it.
      Interestingly enough, as I mentioned in my blog, someone once wrote me about how outraged they were by my politics. They told me to stick to writing BDSM and stay away from things I don’t know anything about. I thought that was rather amusing, to say the least πŸ™‚ I wondered how someone who supported this administration, with all its moralistic judgments, could be reading my story. Oh well, it takes all kinds.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Aside from the main characters who are all interesting in their own ways (though Jane and Ken are probably my favorites), the character I want to know more about is Sensei Turcotte. I’m looking forward to seeing where things go with him, because the few bits of information tossed out about him really piqued my curiosity. Gary is another one that I really enjoy reading, because I could see myself fighting to make sense out of such an unusual situation, even with all the blatant signs right in front of my face. πŸ™‚
    I can’t say there are any that I dislike; there are just some that haven’t been developed enough to learn about yet.
    Thanks for a fabulous story. Keep up the great work!
    –Dan

    • Dark Pen says:

      Wow, you might not like my answer about Sensei. The fact is, you’ll probably learn more about him in Book 2, but he might not be fully explained until Book 3. And I don’t know if I’m going to write book 3…

      • regisman says:

        Well, here’s one vote hoping you write book 3, regardless of learning more about Sensei. I look forward to the new chapter every week and just keep wanting there to be more. Thank you again. πŸ™‚
        –Dan

      • snowsnake says:

        No Book 3?
        This might be a *bit* premature, as you haven’t even posted book 2 yet, :)) but I’m curious about why you’re thinking of not writing book 3, even though it’s obviously in your plans?

  4. snowsnake says:

    Arianwen
    My favorite is Arianwen, though Tina may give her a run for her money as you develop her. Together I think they’ll be dynamite…
    Ken is good too, I just like females better. The character I can most identify with is Bill.
    Mitche
    Oh, and I support President Bush very much and still like your story. As far as I can tell, he hasn’t made any “moralistic judgments” about me. At least not recently. πŸ˜‰
    Merry Christmas!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Jane, if I have to pick
    Why is Jane my favourite character? Well apart from the 3 central players the others are obviously and naturally not as well developed and tend to pop in and out of the story.
    Of the 3 main characters; Ken despite being the Avatar and the ‘Master’ really isn’t in control. He allows the roller coaster of life and Lea to take him where it will and at most he occasionally tries to slow it down with the brakes. Ari (which incidentally tends to be a boys name here in Europe especially Scandinavia πŸ™‚ is a nice person but tends to think with her sex rather than her brain lots of the time – typical teenager.
    Jane however, appears to be far more in control of life than any of the others. She maybe a slave but if she wants something done in the non BDSM it gets done. She is far more aware of human interaction that Ken is even if only he can ‘mind-read’. So for me I’ll take Jane.

Leave a Reply

