Heeerrresss 12!

Hi folks. Just letting you know that things are progressing. Soon, there will be an Avatar side adventure coming up. That means that while I post it, the main story will be on hold. I hope you’ll read and enjoy the adventure though.

And now for a public service announcement:

DON’T FUCKING WRITE TO ME TO COMPLAIN ABOUT HOW OFTEN I POST OR THE CHAPTER LENGTHS.

And to the person who DID write about those things, here’s your answer:

Begin Answer
Not for nothing, but I don’t do this full time. I have quite a number
of other things that take up my time — like earning a living.
Therefore, I post once every 2 weeks. It used to be once a week, but
it’s not a simple process, and, as I said, I don’t have a lot of time.
Anyway, I have to write the chapter. I have to review the chapter.
It gets sent to an editor. I look over the edits. Then it gets
proofed. I look over the proofed copy. THEN I post it.

The chapters are as long as they are. The first book, in its
entirety, was about twice as long as something that you buy off the
shelf. Maybe not as good, but hey, it’s free.
End Answer

Now I’m against spam and all, but I’ll tell you something else. If I have to go to your FUCKING website, and sign up so that I can return your email, guess what: It’s not going to happen. So, not only did this person complain, but they wanted me to sign up at a web site to reply to them. Not Going To Happen.

If that makes me a bad person, then so be it. I try, I really do try, to reply to all the email I get, even if it’s nasty or pisses me off because I LIKE receiving email. What I don’t like is having to jump through hoops to explain my actions when people bitch.

I guess we can tell what sort of mood I’m in, eh?

Next chapter in 2 weeks. And, as always, my thanks to KB and Felinicus for their help and patience.

BTW, it’s tax day in the USA. If you remember, we went to war over taxation without representation. Just curious: How represented do you feel? (And no, I’m not advocating war. But please, use your votes wisely!)

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heeerrresss 12!

  1. snowsnake says:

    Don’t Sweat the Idiots
    You’re not the first author I’ve seen who got upset by the idiots out there. I know feedback is important to you, but try to look at it this way. If you DON’T have at least 10% of your readers complain about something, it just means what you’re doing is so apathetic that no one even cares to respond. Look at those complaints as a sign of success! πŸ™‚
    I will never complain about anything I read on SOL, nor about the schedule an author is on. If I want a complete story, I can always go buy it. If I don’t like the way a story turns, I have a choice. I can keep reading or I can stop. One of my favorite authors took his story in a direction I didn’t enjoy. So, after that direction continued, I stopped. Hopefully he will write something in the future I will enjoy again.
    There *is* one thing that irritates me, and that I see all too often on SOL, and that is a good story that the author abandons. ESPECIALLY if it’s not marked that way before I start reading! I’ve written a couple of emails encouraging authors to restart some stories, but so far, no joy.
    I enjoy your stories and hope you keep it up! And I’m suspect I’ll enjoy the side adventure when you come out with it. Your assurance you won’t drop Avatar is good enough for me!
    Mike Mitchell
    (Glad I did the spell check! The only word I misspelled was my own name!)

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Don’t Sweat the Idiots
      Thanks! For the most part, people are great. There are the occasional twits, and sometimes their idiocy combines with my bad day and someone gets blasted. I suppose I shouldn’t do that.
      Despite the other writing that is calling my attention, I will finish Establishment Book 2. That will be all for Establishment. If I ever return to Avatar, there is a long, large, full, story arc to run. But at the very least, fans will see the forming of the First Circle.

      • snowsnake says:

        Re: Don’t Sweat the Idiots
        As long as you end it at a logical point, that’s all anyone can ask for. EVERY story *could* continue as long as the characters live. And after, for that matter. That’s something some SOL writers seem to forget. Their stories just go on and on and on. They should pick an event, or related events, and tell that story. In your case, I see Avatar to be exactly what your title says, Establishment. You’re telling the story of the establishment of a new church. Once it’s established, this story’s over.
        If, later, you wish to expand into some other significant events in the life of this church, I’m sure I would like to read them! πŸ™‚
        Mike

Leave a Reply

