Movie Madness

There are things in life that I will never understand. TV executives are one of those things. TV audiences are another.

This past New Years Eve, I was introduced to a show called FireFly. Now, I’d heard of this show from other friends, and it just didn’t seem too interesting. Besides which, the damn thing was always being preempted by baseball (I can’t tell you how much I loathe televised sports) or moved from one time slot to another. To say that the show was given a fair shake is like saying that there were WMD in Iraq.

Anyway, I was able to watch the show on DVD, thanks to a friend of mine. Oh. My. Goddess. When I got finished devouring all of the meager 13 episodes that the asshole TV execs allowed them to make, I was stunned. I simply couldn’t see how anyone could have canceled this show.

Of course, my thoughts were things like, “It has a plot!” and “It has characters that are being developed!” and, “Wow, check out the insanely hot women on this show!”

I like SciFi. You might have guessed that from my stories. Or not (I’m working on some actual SciFi hoping that, maybe if the Goddess smiles at me really, really hard, I’ll get published some day). But as far as I’m concerned, this show even, and easily, topped Star Trek. And when I say that, I don’t just mean the TV shows. I mean the books, of which I’ve read over a hundred. The universe is slightly reminiscent of some Heinlein books. And the characters? Truly awesome. Oh, and did I mention that there are some seriously sexy women?

So. Where am I going with this (assuming that you’ve followed along this far in hopes of finding out something about Avatar)? Here is where I’m going: They made a movie (of Firefly, not Avatar, although that’d be cool too). The movie is called Serenity. I highly, highly, recommend that you beg, borrow or (preferably)buy the Firefly DVDs and watch them. Then go see the movie. And if you don’t get to see the DVDs, see the movie anyway. The interviews indicate that Joss Whedon (Creator of Buffy, Angle and Firefly) has done a great job of introducing these characters even if you haven’t actually gotten to watch the DVDs.

Serenity. It’ll be out Sept. 30th. Go. See. It.

Oh, and by the way, the I’ve sent in the next chapter of Avatar to SOL. It should be up soon. Enjoy!

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Movie Madness

  1. nallix says:

    The trailer for Serenity has been released at the film website. Two important notes for viewing: 1) we get our first shot of a Reaver, 2) Shepheard Book isn’t in the trailer at all…

    • Dark Pen says:

      Serenity
      I think I saw just a short flash of Shepard, but apparently due to conflicts, he was unable to have a large part in the film.
      Another important part of the trailer (for me) is that on the Apple site, the fuckers expect that you’ll sign up for itunes to see the full size trailer.
      Can you say… fuck off?

      • nallix says:

        Re: Serenity
        I didn’t catch a glimpse of Book the half dozen times I’ve watched the trailer, but I hope he’ll still be in the movie for a bit. Not having him on the boat really makes it lose a part of what it is. As for (cr)Apple and their iTunes monstrosity, I’m currently working on tracking down a torrent for the trailer. Seems I’m just waiting for Google to index a recent site and it will turn up.

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: Serenity
        Sweet! You could maybe um… email me privatly with the link…

      • nallix says:

        Re: Serenity
        done.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Firefly
    The movie is really a go then? I’d heard, but wasn’t getting my hopes up.

Leave a Reply

