Avatar, Serenity and life…

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything here. That’s mainly because life has been very, very busy.

I’ve had little time to write over the summer — certainly not as much time as I’d like to have had. But I did get the NIS story finished, and folks have been emailing me to say they like it. So if you haven’t had a chance to give it a try, but still want some of the Avatar characters, try it on for size.

I’m of two minds about continuing the main Avatar book once I’ve posted all if the NIS story. I’m trying to do some more main stream writing, and I just don’t have the time to devote to it right now. Plus, I was recently contacted by someone to do some custom writing, and while that’s fun, and I do make money on it, it takes up a lot of time. Plus, I’m being paid, so I can’t blow it off 🙂

Anyway, in a diametrically opposed set of thoughts and feelings, posting once every two weeks is too slow! But I don’t want to end up running out of prepared material, and certainly, since NIS is finished (although not edited) once I get it all edited, perhaps I can go to once a week. For the NIS story, any way.

But back to Avatar, the main thread. There’s just so much to write that it sometimes seems overwhelming. Especially when combined with a full time job that has a tendency to eat my brain *and* trying to get something mainstream together for the “masses” (hey, don’t laugh, they pay better than YOU do — provided anything ever gets published (grin).)

Also, there’s a pay site that might be interested in my BDSM work. Naturally, they don’t pay as well as “real” writing, but I might give that a try as well. I often wonder, why people would pay for this stuff when you can get it for free. Plus there’s always the uninvited thought: What if I write something for pay, and no one buys it?

Ah well, the joys of being insecure.

And finally, I like your emails. They’re sort of the inspiration to continue to write some of this stuff. So send ’em if ya feel like writing. I do try to write back, and if I’ve missed anyone, I apologize.

And REALLY finally, tomorrow night Serenity opens. If you’ve never watched Firefly (and you’re running out of time, since there’s about 15 hours of the show to watch), GO SEE THE MOVIE ANYWAY. It’s a fun romp with some hot chicks (no sex though…) and really great characters. So it’s a good movie to watch even if you haven’t fallen in love with Firefly.

Oh, and I’ll be posting the next NIS tonight, so keep an eye out for it.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Avatar, Serenity and life…

  1. mdsandler says:

    Yay for Serentity tomorrow. I caught the 10 hr Sci-Fi marathon of Firefly earlier this week and was hooked. My girl and I can’t wait.
    About Avatar, it’s great stuff and has oddly enough given me some inspiration in my own life to actually take steps to live the life I want rather than the life I have. It’s really great writing, I’d be sad to not be able to read more.
    So, thanks for all the great writing. I look forward to more. Be sure to post when you get published so I can buy a copy too. I like your writing 🙂

    • Dark Pen says:

      Yup Firefly can just sort of reach out and grab ya. It’s good stuff.
      As for Avatar? I’m glad that folks find it a good story. But, as always, I must stress that it’s a fantasy. If you try any of that stuff in real life, it could be very, very dangerous.

  2. revbrovt says:

    Serenity et all.
    Are all of the Computer Geeks (a term of affection, as one of the Geek-ed myself) really REALLY looking forward to seeing this movie? Example
    Perhaps it was the unceremonious way the series was canceled, leaving all the unanswered questions.
    Even John C. (He Gets No Spam) Dvorak (via TWiT), enjoyed the Firefly series on DVD, though hated the music almost as much as Enterprise’s.

    Anyhow, I too am looking forward to seeing Serenity.

    Darkpen, I also have enjoyed very much the entire Avatar series, even the jaunt into NIS which I haven’t read before now.
    It’s like a drug, you start to jones for the next hit, and rush to read it ASAP when the next chapter arrives.
    Keep up the great work, and I hope you can stick it out with everything else going on in your life.

    Praise “Bob” and Hail Connie.


    Church of the SubGenius

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Serenity et all.
      I don’t know if ALL the geeks are looking forward to Serenity. I think a lot of them are though. How it does past this first weekend will be very telling though. I never even watched it on TV. It was only when someone showed me the first episode on DVD that I got interested. It has a lot of what I like in a show.
      I’m glad you like Avatar. I’m sure I’ll try to continue it, but sometimes trying to do everything that you want to in life (as a friend recently found out) can make life not so much fun.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks for another installment of NIS. I wasn’t enjoying it as much as Avatar (*), but it is growing on me :). I guess it is partly getting used to the NIS universe which I have only dipped into before.
    * – it’s all relative, NIS is great too, but at present I still prefer Avatar and hope that you do get time to write more.
    Once a week sounds very good 🙂
    It would be nice to keep your BDSM work free (I don’t do pay sites, although I could be tempted to buy a book), but we can’t always expect something for nothing from you. I hope the mainstream work goes well.
    I will have to look out for Firefly/Serenity stuff and check it out.
    Anyway, thanks and I look forward to more chapters of your stories.
    N.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Awwww You took Office Games Down from your site. Damn I think it was five months ago I just started reading it and I only gotten to the sixth chapter until life happened and I had to hold off reading it till another time but yesterday I went to read it and it was taken down. Do you have plans of posting it here on your blog?

    • Dark Pen says:

      Well, this is a good news/bad news situation.
      The good news is that the story has been re-edited and lots of mistakes have been removed.
      The bad news is that I removed it because I’m test marketing it. I gave it to a website that will post it, hopefully in the next two weeks. You’ll be able to download the entire thing.
      The rest of the news is that it’ll cost you about $5.99.

Leave a Reply

