Name calling

This is the text of an email that someone sent me:

“A very fine story. I wish you would drop the
liberal paranoid stuff, as well as the bigoted
narrow-minded anti-Christian bull shit.”

I wonder, is that how Avatar is coming across? I know how I feel about various and sundry going’s on in this country. I’m always dismayed by people who don’t see it. But ya know, Christians have persecuted Pagans for centuries. They still do, calling us devil worshipers and trying to deny us the right to worship as we will. So when someone points out those actions, as I’m doing (occasionally a bit heavy handedly) in Avatar, then I become an Anti-Christian. Well, here’s a news flash for you: I am *very* anti-Christian when it comes to how they’ve trampled the rights of so many people in this country, and how they’re forcing their morals (which, after all we should just accept because they know better, and they’re only trying to help us see the way to Jesus Christ) on us. As for individual Christians? I have nothing against them whatsoever. As long as they live by their beliefs and let me live by mine. I don’t expect them to go Skyclad to their celebrations, and I don’t expect them to tell me I can’t to mine.

And should you think that such discrimination is in the past, think again. I’ve had to deal with it, personally, in the form of very nasty comments, declarations that I am, indeed a devil worshiper (another news flash: Pagans don’t believe in the devil), and yes, I’ve even dealt with discrimination at work — which is why I hide the fact that I’m a Pagan while at work.

As for being a liberal? I guess in some ways I am and in some I’m not. My liberal friends are appalled by some of my political stances, and my conservative friends are appalled by others. If I’m a liberal because I think we’ve fucked up in Iraq then so be it. If I’m a liberal because I think this administration is impinging on certain of my rights, then whatever. Liberals don’t like me much when I talk about the right to carry personal weapons and a strong national defense. Not everyone lives their life defined by which lever they pull in the voting boot.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Name calling

  1. zgwortz says:

    The whole liberal/conservative labeling thing bothers me. By the historical definitions of the terms, you (and I, for that matter) are both quite clearly conservative. Conservatism in the historical sense had little to do with social issues (other than wanting the government to keep their nose out of such issues) and much to do with economic ones.
    But in today’s political climate (and especially in the last 10 years), the so-called evangelical conservative has misappropriated the “conservative” label for themselves, even though in historical terms they’re actually moderate to liberal. Anyone who is not an evangelical conservative has thus been relabeled “liberal”, whether the label fits or not.
    I find it highly disturbing (and scary at times) that the evangelical conservatives in this country have more, philosophically, in common with the Islamic fundamentalists they have such a huge problem with than they do with the rest of the people in their own country. They both want to impose their own sense of morality on everyone through the control and use of government. Of course, anyone who disagrees (you know – someone who thinks seperation of church and state is *right*?!?) is obviously anti-Christian. I guess that makes me anti-Christian too, even though as an Agnostic I’m trying to keep a relatively open mind about it.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Like I said, I get to upset both my conservative friends and my liberal friends. It’s great!
      As for the seperation of Church and state? I suspect they don’t see it like that. After all, it’s morality here that we’re talking about, and it’s right there in the bible for anyone to see. So it’s not religious or anything, it’s just well, you know, morals and stuff.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hmmm, is he the narrow-minded-bigoted-christian that you could be ‘anti’? I don’t live in USA, but there do seem to be too many scary christians there that try to limit peoples freedoms based on their own morals. It is worrying that there are people like that, even more worrying that there are large numbers like that and with power.
    So you may be paranoid, but probably not.
    N

    • Dark Pen says:

      I don’t know, are you really paranoid if they’re actually after you?
      The thing I find most disturbing, is that these people don’t even recognise that someone else might have a different take on life that they do.

  3. snowsnake says:

    Name Calling, Etc.
    Well, yeah, Avatar does kinda come across like that. But so what? If I don’t like it, I’ll stop reading. So far, I love your stories! I agree with most of your views; I just don’t think it’s quite as extreme as you sometimes portray it, both in your stories and in the blog. But I haven’t lived your life, either, so I could be wrong! 🙂
    Liberal? Conservative? I call myself conservative, and I think Republicans are slightly, very slightly, better for our country than Democrats, but I think the Puritan mores and morals about sex and nudity our society has adopted as mainstream are ridiculous! And while I think partial birth abortion is clearly murder, I think first trimester abortions should definitely be legal. We’re going to need them for birth control someday, if for no other reason. And as long as some parents aren’t forgiving of their daughters being young unmarried mothers, daughters need a way of hiding their mistakes from their parents. Though it’s very sad when daughters (and sons) can’t go to their parents for help whatever the mistake they’ve made is.
    I believe in being responsible for self. I’m anti taxes, anti big government, and anti government sponsored welfare. I’ve been in the military for over 28 years, primarily because I believe we have a great country and it’s worth defending. I’ll also defend the right of freedom of speech, freedom of doing what you want (assuming it doesn’t harm others) and definitely in the right to bear arms! Someday we may need those arms if the government goes too far astray!
    So what’s all that make me? Like you, I tend to piss off both sides!
    Ain’t it great? :))
    Mitche

  4. Anonymous says:

    Name-calling, etc.
    Pen,
    Firstly, love the Avatar universe and the offshoots.
    Does Avatar come through as anti-Christian? Not as such, no. Anyone who has read the story knows that the characters are Pagan, have their own moral code (which I personally find to be quite compatible with most ‘good’ morals i.e. First do no harm from Socrates, et al), and have a very realistic view that the vocal, ‘Christian’ authorities in their society would condemn them. However, they do not prejudge anyone, they simply react to the evidence presented to them.
    Liberal, paranoid? Also, not really the case. Jane is buying guns, all are learning self-defense. ‘Classic liberals’ (as evidenced by our current crop of senators) frown on both, preferring the individual to relinquish the rights of self-defense to the government as represented by police/marshals/etc. You aren’t paranoid if they really are out to get you sums it up. The Circle and Lea would be persecuted without a doubt if they went public, so they are by definition not paranoid. I assume that the original poster’s comment was referring more to the aspects of technology that the Circle members (Ari, Genie, Tina, Bill, Eric) and Eric’s father are finding to be suppressed. Whether this is or is not happening at this moment in time, there are enough historical examples of things being suppressed ‘for the good of society’ or for the good of those in power, in the past, that the argument can be made it is, or will inevitably soon happen again.
    The best quote I ever saw as a guideline for religion and morality was: ‘Each according to the dictates of their own conscience.’ Of all things on a Norman Rockwell tabletop version of a King James Bible. Perhaps the evangelicals should have a look at that when they open their own bibles.
    I am sorry to hear that you have had to deal with discrimination for being a Pagan. I myself have no true religious leanings, but if pressed would tend to lean toward Pagan, at least from the little I have come to understand from my Pagan friends. I don’t know you personally, but should they ever come for you, as the old saying of “First they came for the Jews, then they came for the Poles, then they came for me, and no one was left to stop them…” come about, I’ll stand with you.
    Chris

  5. Anonymous says:

    I don’t want to be anonymous I am JKPorter25
    I like what you write!! All though I am a Christian I still like to read or ( have my ‘puter do it for me )! I use “ReadPlease” it is decent and I can add to the dic any time I need to for spechial words ( mostly adult ) LOL! Sure I might end up senged and smokin’ at the gates but I will make it in ! LOL!
    Have a great day!
    – John –

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: I don’t want to be anonymous I am JKPorter25
      Thanks. My comments were not directed at individual Christians, but more at the over abundance of morality that some unknown critical mass tries to inflict on everyone else.

  6. Anonymous says:

    The Anti-Christian email.
    Ok first things first. I understand the way you feel about this email, and i agree whole heartedly. Second I know several Wiccan people…they are often called devil worshipers also….they don’t belive in the devil either ppl need to get off their backs. I am an Atheist myself. I also belive in the right to carry a firearm and good national defence. I think this religon thing is way over rated. Also lets look at how Christians and Catholics especialy have acted through out history. Looking at it we can see that there comandments are only obeyed when it suits them…wars and murder in gods name or anyone elses is still war and murder! If there was a religon similar or based on the belifes of the chars in Avatar i would be in that religon…not do to the sex..well not entirely. I applaud your belifes and that you stand up for them. Danny

  7. Anonymous says:

    hi
    I totally agree with your latest blog. Christians do judge and force their beliefs on people which is one thing I hate most of all. Feel free to believe what you want and I will believe what I want just dont force your beliefs on me and I wont force mine on you. Not that I am stereotyping people its just the experiences that I have had.
    But I dont think that is how your story is coming across at all. Dont worry about one persons email. Who cares what they think. Freedom of speech. If they dont like then dont read it.

  8. nolemar says:

    Love
    First of all I want to say that I enjoy your story, and keep it coming.
    Second, I think in the story you do tend to paint all of Christendom with one large brush, but I understand why. There is a vocal group that people see as representing the entire Christian community, which certainly fits your description. There are, however Christians out there that believe that the heart of the Gospel is love for all people. These Christians are working to bring our religion back to that message. I would direct you to Episcopalians consecration of Bishop Gene Robinson, who is openly gay. They have stood up and risked a schism with the larger Anglican Communion, because they believe that loving someone doesn’t make you less of Christian. In addition to the Episcopalians, Methodists, Presbyterian, and others are starting to stand up and speak out against the bigotry that has nothing to do with the message of Christ.
    Finally, in the “Avatar” you refer to God as “the jealous God”, and while Christ does say:
    “Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment” he goes on to say “And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.”-The Gospel of Matthew 22:37-40
    Christ calls His followers to love everyone unconditionally, regardless of their beliefs, political affiliation, stance on abortion, or who they choose to love. This is what living a Christian life is really about. Unfortunately there are people that have taken this message and turned it into something it was never intended to be, a vehicle for their hatred. This group is particularly strong and vocal in the States, but there are many of us looking to return the Church to what it was intended to be, an institution of love, compassion, and comfort.
    Sorry for the sermon, but I want people to know that people like Jerry Farwell, Pat Robertson, and Jack Chick don’t represent the entire Christian community. Like I said, I love the story, keep up the good work.
    BTW: If you’re a Pagan, and someone gives you too much shit, point out that if they paint Easter Eggs, or have a “Christmas” tree (both of which I do) then they’re incorporating Pagan traditions into the two most Holy Christian holidays 🙂

  9. Anonymous says:

    Name calling
    If you’re upsetting the Liberals and the conservatives, you must be getting something right. It seems to me that the vocal minority in America and Africa need to practise some “love thy neighbour as thyself”!
    Alan.

Leave a Reply

