What to do, what to do…

So I was thinking (always a dangerous thing) about various and sundry issues I have had with writing stuff recently. I’ve realized that there are problems that are keeping me from progressing on several (mainstream) stories. So, what am I going to do? Turn to you, my adoring fans. Uh.. hello? Anyone there?

I’m currently writing something that isn’t… quite… mainstream. It is SF though. I thought that I’d start to post it on SOL to see what people think. Since I have no idea at this point, how much sex will be in it, it’ll be interesting to see if people still want to read it.

Just keep in mind, that it’ll be a bit of an experiment for me, and I’ll be flying solo, so to speak. No editor or proofer, unless I find someone who is really a bit of a masochist, and who I can work with. I don’t want to inflict this stuff on the guys who help me with Avatar, since I don’t want to try their patience.

And speaking of Avatar, once again, I turn to you guys to see what you want. As I mentioned, I have no intention of abandoning it, and I have been continuing the story. Just at a rather glacial pace, since I do have some custom work I’m trying to finish. Hey, the paying customers gotta cum first, ya know? Anyway, I thought I’d ask you guys: Would you rather I wait until I’m mostly finished with Avatar B2 before I start posting it, or would you prefer that I post the chapters as I write them, with the understanding that it might be a loooong time between chapters?

So… waddaya think folks?

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to What to do, what to do…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Proofers and SF
    A question and a suggestion.
    First, the question. What makes you think a proof-reader for this story would have to be a masochist? Is the story full of weird names and badly-constructed alien languages?
    Second, the suggestion. If your story is in fact SF with minimal or no erotic content, consider Gina Marie Wylie’s site “Beyond the Far Horizon” as an alternative venue. http://www.beyondthefarhorizon.com/

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Proofers and SF
      No, no wierd alien languages. Just me and my attitude 🙂 I can be a rather… strong … proponent of how I want to present something in a story. Few editors understand that.
      I’ll have to check out the site, thanks! I don’t know what the erotic content will end up being — the charactors haven’t told me yet.

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: Proofers and SF
        I’m more qualified as a copy editor than a literary one, so I probably wouldn’t push very hard. OTOH, if you want to fight about scientific plausibility, we could go a few rounds, I expect. On the gripping hand, it’s your playground and your marbles, so guess who wins?
        BTFH seems to be SF/Fantasy focused, with and without erotic content. Most of the stuff I’ve read there is at least romantic, but Warlord’s got stuff there, so you’d fit right in if you happened to wander into Avatar-style relationships…

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: Proofers and SF
        Ill be glad to help you edit anything you care to throw at me about the only topics that I don’t particurlarly care for are scat and hardcore snuff. BTW I’m cain412 on SOL so drop me a line or something.

  2. thekat03 says:

    another possible venue for your sci-fi story is http://reflectionsedge.com/ (and it pays!)

  3. Anonymous says:

    English is not my first language so I can’t be your editor, but I would be very interested to read what you have to propose. About Avatar, I think that something to read once in a while is better than nothing at all. I always await impatiently any new chapter of Avatar.

  4. mdsandler says:

    I’m interested in both seeing the new story and the Avatar chapters as you write them. I don’t think I can wait for you to finish it first 😛

  5. Anonymous says:

    Of course you should post you SF experiment. We can always stop reading it if it isn’t our cup of tea.
    Avatar – now that is a dillema. Drip feeding chapters in the literary equivalent of chinese water torture. The alternative is an even bigger wait, with the danger of forgetting about it, but then the luxury of being able to have frequent regular posts.
    On balance I think any progress is better than none – i.e. I would prefer to read the chapters sooner rather than later.
    N.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hmmm, I thought I replied to this once.
    Yes please to posting your SF experiment.
    Avatar – drip feed is probably better than nothing for ages.
    N.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Post or Not to Post
    Hey Pen,
    Please post the SF project, I would love to read it and give you feedback as to your path with it. I don’t always have to have sex with my stories.
    As for Avatar, I agree with it would seem most everybody, please post them when your done. Something is better than nothing and I do kinda love the thrill of what are you going to do next to our friends.
    Maxx

  8. Anonymous says:

    Avatar Suggestion
    First i must say, your avatar universe is one of the best stories ive read –
    now to answer your question, what i think, instead of posting the chapters one at a time, or even waiting until the end, is that maybe do a few chapters, clump them together, then post those? just an idea, good luck with your other stories as well.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Let us read
    Please do post the SF. You have a nice style of writing in Avatar. There is a lot of erotica out there but yours is worth reading because you craft a story and write it well so it will good to see how your style transfers to a predominantly SF story.
    As for Avatar most readers would probably take it half a chapter at a time if needed 🙂 Please just post when ever you have anything finished.
    Keep up the great work.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Avatar
    Dear Sir,
    Loooong waiting between 2 chapters is much better then looooooooooooooooooooong waiting for all the chapters.
    Greetings,
    Debok.

  11. Anonymous says:

    avatar: wait or post now
    As an Avatar fan. I would rather have the avatar chapters
    as they come available
    rather than wait a looooong time to see them all at once.
    Thanks,

  12. Anonymous says:

    re: What to do…
    Last time I looked, SOL wasn’t just for erotica. I’ve read several excellent no-sex stories on there. Though the alternate sites suggested are fine (I’ve only seen Gina Marie’s site), please post it to SOL also!
    I’ve been reading Avatar chapters as you’ve written them so far and it’s been fine! Why change a good thing? 🙂
    Mitche

  13. Anonymous says:

    Avatar! – Please post more as it’s available!
    Please, please, at least drip-feed more of Avatar B2, since having read all that’s posted so far I now have a burning need!
    I can’t help but get the feeling that you’re playing the same kind of games with your readers as some of your characters do with each other…
    Steve Hamilton.
    steveh11 at yahoo dot com

  14. Anonymous says:

    Avatar B2
    I vote for each chapter as you finish it. Too bad about the waits, but then I was one of those who urged you to think about writing for $. Liked the latest chapter in Avatar Establishment 2.
    I bought the new version of OFFICE GAMES – well done. Currently looking for a way to turn it into an actual book – most of the service bureaus that do such are squemish (sp?) about the content. Sigh.
    Keep up the good work. Let us know when you have new copy on BDSM Books or wherever.
    rrjchristopher@aol.com

  15. Anonymous says:

    Avatar B2
    I realize I’m a newcomer but really like Avatar Book 1 and Avatar NIS.
    My vote would post them as you write them, all I can get on is your site and this blog, computer won’t download SOL, I don’t really know why.
    grmarsh

Leave a Reply

