Here’s another one!

Well, here’s chapter 23. I’ll be especially interested in how you folks like this one. It was fun to write. And yes, I’m working on chapter 24, but it’s coming slow, as I think I’d mentioned. The other story, the one that I will (hopefully) be selling to a smut site, is doing pretty well though. Of course, it’s full of things that you folks might not be all that interested in — mainly a lot of sex and not a huge amount of plot. We’ll there’s some plot, otherwise all that sex would just get boring.

Now on to other subjects. How about them gas prices, eh?

Aww, never mind.

Now I know that there are some of you folks that have/use iPods. Never was very interested in one, myself, because I have an IRiver, which I like a lot. However, I just happened to get my hands on a new, 30 gig, video iPod. The price was right, so I snapped it up. And no, it didn’t fall off the back of a truck.

Anyway… I thought I’d put a few questions to you folks. I am a Windoze user — and a Linux user. At the moment, primarily Windoze since, due to an overage of interestingness in my life, I haven’t had time to put Linux on my main computers. The point of all this is that I do not own, nor do I have any intention of buying, a Mac. Don’t go into the Mac/PC wars here — I’m not interested. I run a PC for the gaming stuff, and Linux for the rest.

As you might have guessed from my writing, I consider DRM evil incarnate. I’m sure you could have figured that out even from my blogs. I know that iTunes, and the native iPod format (AAC, I think it is), is laden with DRM. I have a large collection of MP3s that I’ve ripped from my collection (yes, the vast majority really is from my CD collection) and I’d like to move them, and the play lists, to the new iPod. So, I’m askin’ you folks, you Windoze users, what programs you like to use for this purpose. I hear that one can still use iTunes, but I’ve used Music Match (which I don’t think is the same thing as iTunes) in the past and I have no intention of ever letting it loose on my machines again. I have Winamp — bought and paid for — and that works very nicely for me. However, it won’t work well, if at all, for the iPod. I also hear that you can set the iPod to be seen from Windoze as just a regular drive, so I guess I’ll be able to just copy the files onto the thing. But if I do that, I’d like to know what functionality I’ll be giving up. (Can you say Geek?)

So, what’s it like on the dark… er… iPod side of the road? What are the good programs to use with it, that will work for Windoze?

Oh, and by the way, I’m not knocking the iPods. They look pretty good. And since I got this one almost free, I see no need to look a gift iPod in the mouth.

And one final note: Oblivion is still eating my brain. Quickly. (But without either Ari or Jane at my disposal, what a way to go!)

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Here’s another one!

  1. girlgeek says:

    I don’t have an iPod, but I do use iTunes because I like how it organises things. As far as I know, importing mp3s into your iTunes library is just that. Importing them onto the list. Nothing fancy to it. I guess it would just come down to how much you like using iTunes?

  2. Anonymous says:

    iPods and DRM
    The AAC format by itself does not include DRM, and both iTunes and the iPod work perfectly well with normal MP3 and unencumbered AAC files, whether you get them from other sources, or rip them from your own CD collection. Apple’s FairPlay DRM only applies to music purchased from the iTunes Music Store; and while DRM in general sucks, FairPlay is somewhat reasonable. I would highly, highly, recommend using iTunes to interface with the iPod. Just don’t purchase anything from the iTMS if you don’t want to deal with DRM.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Chapter 23
    A *lot* in this one.
    Ken now has much more info. He’s got more (full?) access to economic resources, as well as property in the USA, Spain and the UK – we see with Almira where the Spanish property may come from, but we’ve still no idea about the UK end. Now Ken must inventory the ‘Vault’, go and locate the ‘histories’ and try to work out what the effect of all this will be on Lea’s current little group – all while trying to work out the enigma that is Sensai.
    Meanwhile, Tina still hasn’t worked out Cindy…
    Did I enjoy this update? Oh, you betcha!
    Steve.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Chapter 23, IPods and the Number Forty Two
    Great chapter. I was wondering if Lea’s previous ‘church’ (actually I think the Latin ‘cultus’ is closer, but the the meaning of ‘cult’ has shifted a lot recetly) would be part of this. I’m looking forewards to the recovery of the histories and their impact on the current ‘church of Lea’. What are they going to call themselves, anyway? They’ll need a public label of some sort before all this is over I suspect. I continue to enjoy the ways you combine descriptive sex scenes and more plot-driven scenes in this novel. I say again that the Avatar cycle is publishable (minimally at a small-press level. My first thought would be Celia Tan’s Circlet Press since they publish erotic fantasy/SF, have published some good S/M fiction, and include a number of Pagans on their author list. Anyway.
    While I’m a Mac user myself (no sermon coming – they just work for me is all) my Wintel friends have had no problem adding ti ITUNES music downloaded from free sites (the late MP3.com, mp3 files available at musicians’ own sites, etc.) or files taken from CDs. Some have had difficulty using files from file sharing networks. I don’t do that, so I wouldn’t know of my own experience.
    Life the Univers and Everything
    Richard
    rrjchristopher@aol.com

  5. thesigother says:

    Feeling a little clueless
    So where are you posting the avatar chapters now? Have not seen any on the Google Groups, and have not seen them on SOL or on ASSTR.org. Did I miss my ride on the clue bus?

    • thesigother says:

      Re: Feeling a little clueless
      Oh never mind. Just found it, my bad.
      BTW, I am really enjoying this series.

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: Feeling a little clueless
        No problem. I barely have time to write, so updating a website (my asstr website) just ain’t happenin’
        Glad you’re enjoying the story though, and thanks for the comment.

  6. devok says:

    The ipod works fine with normal mp3
    s the thing to watch out for is dont use the ipod as a back up from my understanding (I use a nomad jukebox), is that when you take the mp3’s off the ipod they are modified so only itunes will play them. Now I dont know if this applies to using it as a HD instead of itune to move everything back and forth. Just a heads up.

Leave a Reply

