Classes and Toys!

So in an effort to get out and actually do some of the stuff I’m always writing about, I went to TesFest last weekend. Well, last Monday — I sure as hell couldn’t afford the cost for all four days.

It was interesting. Lots of (unused) playspace, tons of venders (we got some great suspension cuffs!) and a lot of classes. And eye candy. Did I mention eye candy? Youch!

We took a sex bondage class with the ever-classy and totally fun Midori and it was the best part of the entire day. Well… getting to talk, briefly, to Lew Rubens was really cool too. Lew has a dream job: He gets to tie women up and he gets paid for it! Man do I want a job like that!

We also got to take another class with Midori on harness bondage, and, again, the lady was a total blast to learn from. Unlike some other instructors (most notably one at Tesfest who could have bored a rock), she is really fun to listen to and learn from. And boy does she have a lot to teach.

Anyway, as we were walking to this latest class, I noticed what part of town the building was in. The class was being held in a pro-dungeon and lets just say while it wasn’t the worst part of town, it sure as hell wasn’t a nice place to be. So why is this business forced into a crappy part of town? Politicians. And a ton of seriously hypocritical fucking prudes on various comities.

Sex happens people. Get over it. And start to understand that not everyone likes sex in the dark and under the covers. Grow up and deal.

Anyway, all that aside, it’s been a nice week.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Classes and Toys!

  1. mdsandler says:

    I’d love to get out to TesFest one of these days.
    I really need to get to more conventions…

  2. knotsteve says:

    It was great that you came to TESFest. Now all I gotta do is nudge you a bit and get you to other events in the area, and you’ll be just as depraved as me… Bwah hah ha!
    And you’re *so* right… Clubs and dungeons *always* seem relegated to run-down areas and warehouse districts in town. A lot of it is admittedly the politicians and regulations and whatnot, but also there’s a cost issue involved. More play space vs. nicer digs on the same cost. Most clubs opt for the more play space… Another big issue is privacy. Warehouse districts and similar areas often are more private at nights, which is helpful for visitors who wish to remain anonymous.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Yeah Lew is interesting guy. His job isn’t all roses though.. But it is fun. He’s got a great place here in the Pac NW for doing bondage photo work though, and it’s been great of him to let tig and I use it. tig (my other half), has also taken lessons on shibari (sp) from Midori. Her rope work is very good.
    Glad you had fun DP.. 🙂 Can’t wait to see more of Avatar Book II 🙂
    Cyber-Surfer

    • Dark Pen says:

      Well… no job is all roses. But when I look at my job, I know for a fact that what most other people are doing for a living is a lot more fun.
      That’s one thing I’d like to spend more time doing — learning and playing with other people. The Midori classes were totally great, and I’d like to do more of that. But, as usual, my particular situation re: Job Shit combined with Health Shit (some of which was caused by the Job before it got even shittier than it is now) is making my life a really unpleasent place to be. Yuck.

Leave a Reply

