Wow!

Hey, Avatar has been nominated for another Golden Clitty, this time for Best Series. I wondered if that was legal, but it turns out that, to my surprise, it is. Avatar Book 1 won the Golden Clitty for Best BDSM story last year. That was cool. So anyway, here’s the link if you wanna see the listing but I don’t think the voting’s started yet. But remember, when it does, vote early, and vote often. (Uh.. just kidding about that vote often thing.)

In another news flash, it turns out SG-69 will not be five chapters. It’ll be more, although I hope not much more. Who’d a thunk it? I might be posting chapter 2 soon, but we’ll have to see. I’m not as comfortable with this world and these characters as I am with Avatar, and I’d hate to post something that I might have to change later.

And finally, thanks for all the well wishes about the carpel. It’s not getting better though, which isn’t a good thing. Just when I have all this story stuff I want to write. Man, I gotta tell you this year has absolutely SUCKED!

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Wow!

  1. Anonymous says:

    If you want to rest your hands and still keep writing, I would suggest you test one of those speech to text kits, they work nicely nowadays, that is once they are past the initial learning stage. Sure not as fast as typing, but better then fucking your hands up even more.
    Congrats on the nomination by the way.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Not a bad idea. However, I don’t know if I can ‘write’ and talk at the same time :).
      Anyone know of a good freeware piece of software that’ll work with Open Office?

  2. thekat03 says:

    another way to help give your wrists a break and still type is to pick up a set of wrist braces. my fiance just got a couple (he seems to have tendonitis, not carpal tunnel, but it’s equally uncomfortable), and he finds the wrist braces act like a built-in wrist rest and help hold his wrists in a neutral position so they aren’t as irritated feeling.

  3. genericjoe says:

    Carpal
    I had problems a few years ago when I was writing/typing more.
    While I’m typing on a regular keyboard at work today (and do most of my writing there), I’ve largely switched to split keyboards, and that made a *HUGE, INSTANT* difference in my wrists.
    It took me a while to get “up to speed” with it, but I actually gained 5-10 wpm on split keyboards (and my accuracy is higher)… that may not be the split keyboards, but the “Typing of the Dead” program I used accommodate myself to the new layout.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Carpal
      Yup. Got one for home and managed to make work get me one for work. I would have done it myself for work, but they get all snippy about using your own equipment. Have I mentioned in the last five minutes how much I hate my fucking company?

  4. Anonymous says:

    Stuff
    Carpal tunnel syndrome – Man, that sucks! My best wishes for a godo recovery, my friend. I appreciate how valuable and how essential being on a computer can feel, especially to someone to whom being on one is a literal pain.
    Having had a bit of experience using it, might I suggest that you look into voice dictation software, such as Dragon NaturallySpeaking? I used Via-Voice in the past, and while it wasn’t entirely convenient (at the time), it did have its uses. For someone who has a hard time typing, voice recognition software could be a big help.
    Well, you helped solve one of my problems, in terms of GC voting. I wasn’t sure what to do about the new “shared world” categories, but, since “Avatar: NiS” has qualified, then that’s where my votes will be going. 🙂
    Best wishes for your continued health and continued writing… in that order.
    David

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Stuff
      Thanks David. The carpal tunnel is getting better. Honestly, I won’t look into voice recog until I absolutely have to, because I don’t think I’ll be able to ‘write’ like that.
      Glad to know you like the stories enough to vote for them for a GC. I’m kinda surprised the story was mentioned at all, but I think it’s awesome that people like it enough to nominate it.

Leave a Reply

