Neverwinter Nights 2

What an incredible piece of shit.

There are so many things wrong with this game, I barely even know where to start. Oh wait, I do know where to start. With the UI.

It must have been designed by two five year olds. Never have I ever played a game with such an incredibly shitty UI. What the fuck were these morons thinking when they released this game?? The UI is SO hard to use, so clumsy and so screwed up, it’s a wonder it ever got out of beta testing. What, did they tell everyone it was gonna get better? The camera angles are impossible to make work well. No matter how hard you try, something is always in the way of the action, and often your characters die because you were spending time trying to figure out how to adjust the angle so you can set up your attack (and yes, I know that you can pause the game).

And that’s another thing. There are two different maps, and both of them are about totally useless. I mean really, again, what were they thinking? If you have a mini-map showing a large area, you’d think you could direct your party using that map. But no. There’s no way to do that. Instead, you have to click on your main screen, laboriously trying to direct your party over large distances. Fucking idiots.

And your party. Oh my god. Who wrote the AI for this? There is no excuse at all for an AI this poorly written now-a-days. The characters walk through doors on their own. They start fights (and get killed, and get the rest of the party killed) on their own. They summon creatures that block a doorway so that the one party member you have managed to get inside the room dies, while everyone else waits outside. When you turn off certain functions in hopes of keeping these idiotic characters from doing certain things, they do them anyway. Your only hope is to micromanage every character — which is not a whole lot of fun.

While we’re at it, let’s talk about how you give orders to your party. You have to left click and select each individual character and give them an order to do something. Of course, when you do, the rest of the party stops what they’re doing and orients on that character — sometimes. Why the hell couldn’t the designers figure out that you should be able to right click on a character’s icon and give it a command? Would that be so hard?

Cut scenes. There are FAR TOO MANY, they take forever and they’re fucking BORING! And stupid. Do I really want to hear my characters arguing with each other? Yes, I know why they put that in the game, but it’s poorly done. Like pretty much everything else.

Take the save/restore functions. Please. I mean, you gotta be kidding me! Oblivion is a far more complex game and the Quicksave, and the normal restore and save functions, take about a tenth of the time! Moving between cells is barely noticeable — unlike this game where it takes, often, up to a minute to load. And I don’t have a slow or old computer, either.

And finally… finally, the Bioware forums. You. Have. Got. To. Be. KIDDING ME! For all but two of their forums, these morons require you to send them your fucking CD key when you register to post! When I called them on it, they said, “Oh well, we helped write the game, so we have all the keys already”. Um … so? Not only that but how the fuck to I know if they are lying? “Trust us, we’re not.” How about trust me? How about, if you’re really part of the creation team, you don’t treat me, a person who made the mistake of paying for this steaming pile of shit, like a criminal.

What’s frustrating, is that this game could really have been quite good. But it’s not, and I highly recommend that you stay the hell away from it.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Neverwinter Nights 2

  1. knotsteve says:

    Don’t mince words… Tell us how you *really* feel… 😀

  2. steveh11 says:

    I’m guessing this means you won’t be on this particular brand of crack, and will be writing instead? 😉

  3. Anonymous says:

    yikes I got it for x-mas
    I had it as a x-mas present as I enjoyed nwn1 and the expansions. OK the AI on those isn’t the greatest but is it even worse that that? Also had M&M Dark Messiah and thats playing well and I’m enjoying it as I have but can’t play Oblivion on my machine. Guess I won’t rush to install nwn2 but I’ll let you know whenI do play it what I think 🙂

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: yikes I got it for x-mas
      If you can’t play Oblivion (which is a game that’s so much better than NWN2, it’s not funny) then I’d bet that you won’t be playing NWN2. In addition to all its other faults, it has a pretty high hardware req.

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: yikes I got it for x-mas
        Correct, it runs like adog on my pc. The PC is fine (2.6Ghz, 1.25GB RAM) the problem is the Video card. Cos the pc motherboard only has PCI slots the most powerful Video card I’ve ever been able to find is a NVida 5500 after that they only make them with pci express or newer slots. Both NWN” and Oblivion un but are both slow slow/jerky they are unplayable…ummm wonder if I can just get a new motherboard and move my processor etc across?

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: yikes I got it for x-mas
        If you could share what your motherboard is, I’m sure that someone here could find out what you could transport over to a new motherboard (as well as what wouldn’t be worth the hassle).
        Me, I just bought a new system a month ago, and, so far, things are going swimmingly. I’ve got am Intel Core2Duo E6400, an ASUS P5B-VM motherboard, 2 GB of RAM and, best of all, I sprung for a Radeon X1950 PRO.
        Reason I went fot this setup? I was looking at a specific game: Splinter Cell – Double Agent. With this setup, all of the recommend requirements are easily met, and there’s allowance for games coming out. As for the video card, sure, it’s not a dual video card setup, but I just can’t see myself spending twice as much on the video cards that I do on the processor alone. Besides, according to a few websites, my load could still get a decent framerate out of Oblivion, which is certainly saying something.
        However, since I lack either of those games for the moment, I’m getting plenty of joy out of re-playing my older games (Splinter Cells I through III, Call of Duty I & II, SW:KOTOR I & II) AND I can now play them with all of the graphics options completely maxed out. Sweet!
        Oh, and just to keep to the main theme of this thread, I thought NWN I was okay, but didn’t think enough of the game to bother with either the expansions or NWN II. Nice, but not great. (And having the feedback from DP doesn’t make me want it more.)
        Griezz

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ok. I agree
    I have been slogging through NWN2 also.
    I made it into Act III after wasting entirely too much time
    on this stupid game.
    I really think the original was a better game in most ways.
    The graphics are not really that much better in my opinion even
    with a higher-end GFX card.
    Maybe I will finish, maybe I will wipe it off my drive.
    – Felinicus

Leave a Reply

