Okay, so I have a new , paid, LJ account, and I wanted to post a poll.  Just cuz.  So… you could like… answer.  Just cuz.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to

  1. belter says:

    Under used character
    The poll that you should have is the character who does not get enough screen time in the story. In that poll I would have to vote for Karen Feyh.
    Second, has anyone noticed that in a temple of a sex goddess, no one dresses up in sexy outfits like a french maid, school girl, naughty nurse etc?

    • allen_wilson says:

      Re: Under used character
      Dress-up? Why spoil a good thing.
      I read bad things in the Karen Feyh character. She’s way to pliable? (Not bent over a chair pliable, if your wondering 😎

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: Under used character
        Well, I suppose that they could dress up. And do, on occasion. Not a bad idea though.
        As for Karen? Why would you think she’s trouble? Or even pliable?

      • allen_wilson says:

        Re: Under used character
        I can’t really say why I think that. Maybe it’s my suspicious nature.
        It was way to easy for her to fall for Ken and Jane at first. Then her boyfriend is history. Now she’s in vita loca at the mansion. I know about the attraction but for Karen it was to easy.
        Like they say, if it’s to good to be true it probably is.
        AFW

  2. allen_wilson says:

    Da’ poll
    Okay, let’s get real now. The first time I looked at the poll there were 2 votes(Ari and Cindy) now there are 5. (Mine was for Fionna by the way.) That means one thing, the tastes of DP’s readers are wider than I thought. Well done.

  3. steveh11 says:

    13 votes so far – mine was for Tina BTW.
    Oh my Goddess – can you imagine</i. just how hot an arc with Tina and Karen could be? Incendiary doesn't say half of it… particularly with Cindy in the mix!

    • Dark Pen says:

      Yeah. I’ve actually thought of that and, as someone else mentioned, Karen is one of the most underused characters in the books.
      The problem with Avatar is that there’s so much to write and I’m having a hard enough time finishing while keeping it a manageable size it as it is 🙂

  4. Tina, tina, always Tina, little tempting thing that she is *hugs*

  5. Anonymous says:

    I missed a poll?
    Ack…. I missed the poll (or can’t figure out how to vote).
    Anyway, for what it is worth… I am kind of partial to Ellen/kim combo, smart, sexy, and both a handful. I wish they were at the mansion more, they seem like they have so much story in them. I thought they would join the circle back in book one.
    I like the idea of Sensei, but he is not my favorite, one of them though. I put him in the support class to add color if you will, him and Gary, Joan, and of course Lenny 🙂
    Of the women, both Jane and Ari/Ally were my favs. This was very much a bondage story at one point, and those two had some great scenes. Tina seems to be moving the story that way in the last chapter, but it is still light from the earlier chapters (first book even). I think that is why Tina is popular now, she is the one that is being written about the most, ATM, and she is using cindy nicely.
    As for my favorite character? It is Lea, of course! What is not to like about the enigmatic Goddess of Sex?
    Alas, but Lea, not Ellen/kim were on the list to vote for. I guess of those I would stick with Ken, he IS the avatar after all.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I missed a poll?
    Ack…. I missed the poll (or can’t figure out how to vote).
    Anyway, for what it is worth… I am kind of partial to Ellen/kim combo, smart, sexy, and both a handful. I wish they were at the mansion more, they seem like they have so much story in them. I thought they would join the circle back in book one.
    I like the idea of Sensei, but he is not my favorite, one of them though. I put him in the support class to add color if you will, him and Gary, Joan, and of course Lenny 🙂
    Headonist
    Of the women, both Jane and Ari/Ally were my favs. This was very much a bondage story at one point, and those two had some great scenes. Tina seems to be moving the story that way in the last chapter, but it is still light from the earlier chapters (first book even). I think that is why Tina is popular now, she is the one that is being written about the most, ATM, and she is using cindy nicely.
    As for my favorite character? It is Lea, of course! What is not to like about the enigmatic Goddess of Sex?
    Alas, but Lea, not Ellen/kim were on the list to vote for. I guess of those I would stick with Ken, he IS the avatar after all.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I missed a poll?
    Ack…. I missed the poll (or can’t figure out how to vote).
    Anyway, for what it is worth… I am kind of partial to Ellen/kim combo, smart, sexy, and both a handful. I wish they were at the mansion more, they seem like they have so much story in them. I thought they would join the circle back in book one.
    I like the idea of Sensei, but he is not my favorite, one of them though. I put him in the support class to add color if you will, him and Gary, Joan, and of course Lenny 🙂
    Of the women, both Jane and Ari/Ally were my favs. This was very much a bondage story at one point, and those two had some great scenes. Tina seems to be moving the story that way in the last chapter, but it is still light from the earlier chapters (first book even). I think that is why Tina is popular now, she is the one that is being written about the most, ATM, and she is using cindy nicely.
    As for my favorite character? It is Lea, of course! What is not to like about the enigmatic Goddess of Sex?
    Alas, but Lea, not Ellen/kim were on the list to vote for. I guess of those I would stick with Ken, he IS the avatar after all.
    Hedonist

  8. Anonymous says:

    Need More Avatar!
    Missing it

  9. Anonymous says:

    Characters
    I suppose it’s not surprising that people have chosen the characters they have as their favorite. For one thing, Ken IS supposed to be the central figure, so it’s unsurprising that he gets the attention that he does. As for the other characters, though, it relates to how much “screen time” that they get. Tina gets more attention than any other secondary character, so she naturally would attract more votes.
    Ari and Jane, Ken’s wives, naturally get a lot… BUT they would have gotten a lot more if they had had more attention paid to their characters. Considering how much they had to do in the first book, and how much their own “Screen time” has fallen to nearly nothing, in some ways, it’s surprising how many votes that they did recieve. After all, in the current Book, I don’t think we’ve seen Ari & Jane appear as anything more than background characters or encountered as part of a larger “scene” in the playroom. Even Jane’s scene in the latest chapter (Ari barely getting mentioned) is more about how Fionna is afraid of her rather than about Jane herself.
    I just worry that a point is reached where you have so many characters that you become more concerned with making sure everybody gets mentioned or, on the other end of the spectrum, get so focussed on some characters that others accidentally fall through the cracks.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Characters
      Very perceptive of you about that too many characters thing.
      A far as the poll is concerned, well, there are only so many choices I was allowed, and the poll was a bit of an experiment.
      As far as the number of characters, that’s kind of a trick. The Establishment books are working toward something specific: The Establishment of the Circle. Once that’s done, and all the Priests and Priestesses have been brought it, Establishment ends. But by then, you’ll have a good basic knowledge of the characters, their world, and Lea’s religion. In a sense, Establishment 1 & 2 are just set up for the Conflict books, which will be much shorter and focus on fewer people, and the final set of books, which I won’t name right at the moment.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Characters
    By the way, I agree that Lea Herself should have been on the list. Since she isn’t, my vote would have to be for Tina. She is getting the lion’s share of the attention right now. (Although Sensei come svery close as a real cool character.)

Leave a Reply

