Some people…

Okay, so here, in its entirety, is an email that someone sent me today. Now, normally, I won’t post a message someone sent me, but I sort of suspend the rules when someone emails a message like this and does it anonymously. It’s not like their name is associated with it, because they didn’t have the balls to identify themselves, so I’m not really breaking netiquette here.

Here’s the email. It’s starts with him (I’m using him for convenience, but it could have been a her), quoting something in my story:

“That started a discussion between them about the
damage that the erosion of the separation of
church and state was doing. Jane was quite
passionate about her point of view and Ken was in
agreement with her. He’d been so wrapped up in his
little world that things like this hadn’t gotten a
lot of attention – unless they were rooted in
technology, government intrusions had been mostly
ignored by him. Of course he understood, and stood
by, the rights of the various churches to preach
what they wanted. He expected that some churches
wouldn’t allow a gay marriage in their faith.
However, he felt that the state should have
absolutely no say in who could marry whom. As
long as the fuckers got their taxes, what did
they care anyway?”

After quoting something that he’s read for free, he goes on to say this:


I think it’s in bad taste to insert political
opinion into a stroke story – especially when
the insert has little to do with the overall
plot. I don’t care about gay marriage either way,
but this really disrupted the flow of the story,
and quite frankly, the news is plenty enough for
these issues. When I fap, I don’t need to hear
this shit. This is what I’m trying to escape by
coming here.

If you’ve got a message and you want to put it
across, take the meaning and generalize it;
derive a theme and sprinkle it over your writing.

Now, you’re free to express your opinion, and Goddess knows I’ve received hate (or mild dislike) email before. Generally, I respond to it privately, and if I bitch about it publicly, I won’t ID the person who sent it. However, try really hard not to come off like a complete idiot when you email me.

Avatar is a plot driven stroke story based on MY ideas and MY politics. So if you don’t like those, then perhaps you shouldn’t read the story.

This quote comes from Chapter Ten of book 1. There are, to date EIGHTY-FIVE chapters of Establishment posted… that’s somewhere around four hundred and twenty-five THOUSAND words.

I’m going to guess that I’ve “derived a theme and sprinkle(d) it over (my) writing.” as this person suggested. Of course, they might have known that had they read past chapter ten — unlikely since they don’t appear to have the required attention span or flexibility of thought.

Anyway, I guess the moral of the story is, I love feedback, and I even appreciate negative feedback. Hey, not everyone likes the same stuff, you know? But please, if you don’t have the balls (or overlies) to add your name to your email, you’re just gonna find me ridiculing you on my blog — especially when you’re bitching about a free story.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Some people…

  1. hottwriter3 says:

    The guys an idiot….
    The guys an idiot, I love your stories, and they are so much more then stroke material. One of the very few BDSM stories that I actually like and that portrays BDSM as something more then a bedroom sex scene. Keep up the great work….and any chance you will be posting a new chapter soon? *kneels at your feet and begs*

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: The guys an idiot….
      Hey, I have no problem with people disagreeing with me. I have a problem with people who don’t have the balls to put their name to something.
      As for new chapters, well, as I said, I’ve finished the next two. I need to get them edited, then post them. Not all at once, of course, since the object was to get a little ahead of my writing.
      As for kneeling and begging? Love it πŸ™‚

  2. steveh11 says:

    A classic case of posting a comment before reading the rest of the story. I mean, isn’t that ‘theme’ part of the overall plot, for goodness’ sake?
    Also, ‘Avatar’ is NOT a stroke story. There happens to be hot sex involved in the plot, but plot there very definitely is – and some chapters with very little sex and much plot! (Vice-versa too, of course.)
    But: if you write for the internet, you will get this sort of feedback. Luckily, you’ll get other kinds too, some of which can be entertaining, some ego-boosting – and some of it thought provoking.
    Keep pounding that keyboard – I’m one of the many who really enjoys ‘Avatar’.
    -Steve.

  3. Anonymous says:

    OK, Now he’s Nucking Futs
    Hey Pen,
    To date I have read all 85 chapters of your story and I would say that you have found your theme, sprinkled it well and are making your point rather nicely. That being said, I feel that your views fit the story perfectly. Can you try to imagine a community like that being built in todays society without every politician and religious zealot going absolutely freaking ballistic. I would love to see in my lifetime a community based on love, open and shared with everyones thoughts and emotions being taken to heart. Everyone treated with the same respect that they would wish to be treated with. It’s not a very difficult concept, just difficult for most to understand. Keep the faith and keep the words coming, those of us that enjoy your writing will continue to read and love every word!
    Madd_Maxx
    Bored In Tampa

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: OK, Now he’s Nucking Futs
      Yeah, well, good luck with it happening in your lifetime. Unless you have a very long life. It’s been my experience that the various religions out there — at least the really big ones — are happy to love you and understand you. As long as you’re exactly like they are, and believe what they believe. Stray from that and things won’t go well for you.
      Yes, it would be nice to have a sexually free society. One that values the act. Hell, it’d be nice if we had a society where the majority of people know that women are supposed to have orgasms. That, sadly, isn’t the case. You said it: Too many zealots, too many people out there trying to ‘save’ me for my own good.
      Fuck ’em.

  4. knightly38 says:

    Politics in the story
    I’ve read all the chapters in your story (some of them twice) and I can say that I don’t agree with all you say, and I don’t care about some of what you say, I can tell you that it ALL adds up to a very good story and not just for a stroke. Keep up the good work, and if I come across anything I don’t like, I have a lot of practice ignoring things. just ask my ex-wife.
    I do hope you will get back to that vault under the mansion, that sound cool.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Politics in the story
      I don’t think I’ve ever read a book where I agree with everything that was said. I guess that’s what makes it interesting rather than boring. And, as I mentioned, I don’t mind it when someone doesn’t agree with me, or hates my politics or points out that I’ve spelled something wrong. I just find it irritating when someone makes an ass of themselves while doing it.
      I’ll get back the the vault, although it might not be in book 2…

  5. Anonymous says:

    Hrm
    My first thought when reading his comment was: “What are you on about? It IS part of the plot”. He might even realise that if he reads another 25 chapters or more πŸ™‚
    By the way, was meaning to send you a mail about your last chapter, but haven’t gotten it done. Bad me I suppose. I adore your story, political opinion n all, but you already knew that πŸ˜‰
    Yours, Treiss

  6. Anonymous says:

    Why the anon hate?
    While I agree that the person sending the mail is being a bit of an ass and hasn’t read the story very well, I don’t understand your apparent distaste for those who prefer not to attach their name to something. I think that attaching a name to something distracts from the content, not that I’m saying its bad to do, just that it prevents ad hominem to some degree. Just a few thoughts from an anonymous person.

    • Anonymous says:

      Re: Why the anon hate?
      Ugh! It’s “it’s”, not “its”! I hate when I do that. Sorry for rambling. I am tired.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Why the anon hate?
      My feeling is this: If you are going to slam someone about something they’ve put out there for free, you should have valid points and you should have the fortitude to put your name to it.
      OTOH, you’ll notice that I have not disabled anonymous commenting either on this LJ or SOL since I think that people should be given the option. I receive a lot of anonymous email from folks, and not all of it flattering. I guess that one just annoyed me more than most.

  7. what a closed minded moron

  8. Anonymous says:

    If you don’t like it, don’t read it – just stop bitching about it!
    I agree with the majority view on this subject – I enjoy the story – I now skip a fair amount of the BDSM as it is not my scene, but it does not detract from the quality and interest of the story. Eagerly awaiting more…. πŸ˜‰
    tried logging in with my LJ account – didn’t work – I’m on there as ysbrydglan.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Re: Weird anonymous criticism
    Ordinarily, I wouldn’t be posting anonymously, but I don’t do LiveJournal, so I can’t really use its ID. However, DP may remember messages from me from some time ago, so I hope that makes up for it.
    My only comment is this: If he is writing the comment to DP after reading just 10 chapters, then I wonder where he got off criticizing politics in the story. Specifically, the anonymous poster wrote “I think it’s in bad taste to insert political opinion into a stroke story – especially when
    the insert has little to do with the overall plot.”
    How about that, folks? This person has not only forseen all of the chapters that DP has written so far, but they can also say exactly what is in any unwritten chapters in the future. In other words, just how the heck can they say that comments about government influence on religion is unrelated to the story, since the entire story has not been written yet. If, as I can see happening, the story develops to the point where the government attempts to crack down on Lea’s Circle, then I can see such political opinions being VERY relevant to the story.
    If that poster wants just a simple stroke story, there are thousands of other writers out there. Speaking for myself, I’m enjoying the story just as Dark Pen is writing it. (True, it’s been quite a while between chapters, but that’s another issue entirely.)
    And for the rest of you, Merry Christmas.
    David

Leave a Reply

