Chapter 38 up!

Man, my posting schedule has been for crap. Sorry all.

So, what have I been doing all this time?

Since the last time I posted here, I went on vacation. Now, I won’t say how it happened, but I will say that we got to take a walk-around of the Kink.com studios. What a place! That has got to be a BDSM enthusiast’s dream house. Our ‘Tour Guide’ was damned awesome, and very kind — we thank him tons. We didn’t get to meet a lot of people who work there, but every person we did meet, was very, very nice to us.

And that includes Princess Donna.

Not only is she incredibly beautiful (and she wasn’t even made up — it was just her natural hotness), but she was also incredibly kind to a couple of nobody tourists who happened to get inside to see the place. Wow.

And the rooms of toys. Oh. My. Fucking. God! What a place to work that must be. I even saw someone zipping down the hall on roller skates — or roller blades, I’m not sure which. I just can’t imagine working in a place like that. And I don’t mean just the hot babes walking around, I mean a place where people want to work there. A place where creativity is appreciated and encouraged. Unlike the soul-sucking hell hole of a place I work at. Fuck, if I were only 10 years younger…

Not, mind you, that I think I could be one of their Webmasters, because what they mean by webmaster and what other companies mean by webmaster is quite different. I’m not good looking enough to be on camera. But hell, I wouldn’t mind helping with the rigging or directing. oh well… that’s why I write. But sometimes my life feels awfully empty and cut off from things I might really love.

Oh yeah, the rest of my two week vacation was pretty damned cool too, but the visit to Kink.com really made it special.

On to Avatar.

It’s coming, it’s coming. Very slowly, unfortunately. I’m not stuck — exactly — but it’s not flowing the way I like. I think there are too many other distractions, like writing for pay. I enjoy writing for money, but keeping focus on several different projects is difficult, and Avatar is nothing if not a long term project.

Say… if anyone is bored beyond belief and wants to draw up plans for the Mansion, let me know. I have some basic floor layouts that I got off the net, but of course, they aren’t perfect. I also have notes on what it has where, but again, it’s incomplete. This isn’t a vanity request, it would be helpful to have a basic floor and very basic grounds layout. Lemme know if you’re interested anyone.

That’s about it for now. Hopefully I can get my ass back in gear, write some more Avatar, write some more other stuff and have more fun in life now that my health seems to be improving.

Oh, and has anyone out there bought a Kindle? If so, and you want to share your thoughts, please do.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Chapter 38 up!

  1. stryal says:

    Oh my. A wonderful chapter indeed.!
    As for the kindle, I’ve been looking into one as well. Mostly because of how many books I do go through.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Thanks!
      I too, go through a ton of books and I’ve flat out run out of room to keep the things around. So… I need to do something, and quite frankly reading stuff off my Treo 750 isn’t the greatest solution.

  2. mdsandler says:

    How in the heck did you snag that tour?
    I’ve been trying to decide between Sony and Kindle. Not sure if I want all the buttons the Kindle has.

  3. Anonymous says:

    love the new chapter. I had a idea for a spinoff tale of another circle that is centered on a gentalmen’s club in a near puritan town. This story also has a inquastion like group (The FAITH) as the main antagonist.
    If you want to see the basic plot outline let me know at RWDeweese5@aol.com.
    Untill lea joins the convent make mine Avatar.

    • Dark Pen says:

      A spin off, eh? Well, considering the number of books planned for this world, it would be a while before I could get to anything like that. However, the story you are describing sounds like it would fit well in the Conflict series of books — which is what I’ll be posting after the second book of Establishment.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Kindle
    I was thinking about getting one for my Mom. She has arthritis fairly bad in her hands, so has problems with heavy books. Unfortunately it is not available outside the U.S., nor are any books down loadable.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Kindle
      You mean that Amazon wouldn’t ship overseas? That’s kinda odd.
      Also, there are other ways of getting content onto the device — at least that’s what I’m reading. You could, for instance, download it to your computer and then move it onto the device. Supposedly Mobibooks will convert many different formats into the PRC format that the Kindle takes. However, I have to say that I’m way unimpressed with the Mobibook program…

  5. steveh11 says:

    1st, I know what life does to writing schedules. No sweat.
    2nd, Good chapter. Foreshadowing – hell, outright flashing lights! – some nice touches with Gary again, and it’s always a delight when we see Cindy, it has been since the NiS crossover. šŸ™‚
    Finally, can’t help with the Kindle, but isn’t it proprietary – limited to Amazon (as well as limited to the USA)?
    Steve.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Yeah, Cindy’s in the chapter I’m working on now. She and Tina tend to get a lot of screen time, so to speak. Little sluts.
      The Kindle uses, from what I’ve read, the prc format, which I wrote about in the above comment. I’m surprised that Amazon doesn’t ship it overseas, but perhaps that’s because the envision people using the built in WiFi with it — and it won’t work anywhere but the US.
      Which brings up all kinds of stupid shit the US does to fuck people over. Proprietary formats, proprietary wireless coverage… hell, if some CEO can’t make a buck off it, they outlaw it.

      • stryal says:

        *nods*
        Oh yes…*sighs* I swear…we’re becoming more and more like the Ferengi of ST:TNG that’s it’s flipping scary. *poutyfrown*

      • Dark Pen says:

        At least the Ferengi didn’t hide that they were out for ‘Profit’. The scumbags in our congress all profess to be like, pure and hardworking citizens.

      • stryal says:

        Tell me about it. And we’ve been too dumbed down over the years that too many people actually BELIEVE the party line!

      • Anonymous says:

        Kindle vs Sony
        I went through this just last month… agonized over it as only true lovers of the printed word would.
        I went with the Sony, but it was close.
        Sony:
        Pros: Sleek, solid feeling reader that LOOKS great. staring at it for hours on end is appealing. Support for lots of formats.
        Cons: no wireless, store not as robust as amazon.
        Kindle:
        Pros: EDVO allows you to instantly download books from amazon, get blogs, newspapers and magazine without hooking to PC.
        Cons: this is one ugly device, I was worried about staring at this cheap-looking plastic thing for hours on end. Charges for blogs that you can get to manualy.
        So what made my final decision? I have lots of e-books already(6000+). I was not planning on buying tons from amazon, so I didnt feel I needed the download ability.
        here is the true value for the Sony though…
        http://calibre.kovidgoyal.net/
        this WONDERFUL program converts many different formats (HTML, LIT, RTF, TXT, PDF) to the sony, with lots of controls (like font).
        So my advice, if you get papers and magazines galore and plan on buying new books often, the Kindle is the one to get (if you can ignore the uglyness).
        If you have lots of e-books already, and don’t need the instant download feature, get the Sony.
        Both seem great, and I suggest getting one!
        Hedonist

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: Kindle vs Sony
        Neither have a built in light, which mystifies me to no end. The sony works well in all sources of light, even low light I have been able to read the sony where I would not be able to read a paper book. I have not had much issue with glare either, although using a book light right over the page does produce glare.

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: Kindle vs Sony
        Well, I ended up with the Kindle… I’ll post about that soon šŸ™‚

  6. *GLOMP*
    Yay! A squee left my mouth as soon as i saw the update. i check your journal every couple of days on the off chance you might’ve updated. i adore your stories…i’m thinking of getting lots of ink and trying to print out the Avatar stories one of these days. Until then, i’ll just reread on my trusty little laptop.
    By the by, i loved this most recent chapter and i want mooooore. Soon. Very soon. *grins* i know real life can interfere, so i won’t make demands…i’ll just beg. Will that help any? At all? *bats her eyelashes*
    Oh, i haven’t gotten Kindle yet. i’m sort of waiting for an uber-ebook reader to come out that i’ll decide that i can’t live without. Until then, i’ll just drool over other techno-toys out there. They’re so…shiny!
    Okay, it’s late, and i’m punchy, so off i go into dreamland. Thanks for a tremendously good story that thoroughly entrenches me.
    Blessings,
    kiska

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: *GLOMP*
      Wow. I earned a squee? And you’re begging? AWESOME.
      Glad you liked the chapter, and there is more being written. Not nearly as quickly as I would like, but there you have it.
      The deciding factor for the Kindle — and I think I am getting one — is simply that I no longer have the space in my house for more books.
      Hmmm… from the Shiny comment I’m going to assume you’re a Firefly fan — cause my brain doesn’t work well enough to remember if you’ve ever posted about it. Oh I just love getting older…
      Oh, and I love your ‘Daddy’s little whore’ icon. Way hot šŸ™‚

      • Re: *GLOMP*
        *grins* Yep, you earned a squee and begging. Glad you enjoy such gifts.
        Yeah, i have no space for books either…primarily now i only buy print books that are part of a series i started before i got very involved in ebooks.
        i AM a Firefly fan (i miss Wash now…) and shiny is one thing that works well for me because i’m very attracted to shiny things, like knives and bubbles and clamps and…well, let’s just say that i’m easy to keep amused.
        And i don’t know if i ever posted about it, but i had an icon with Simon from the Jaynestown episode. “This must be what going mad is like.” was the quote, or something like that. Good memory!
        i adore my current icon. *grins* It’s my favorite to date, and somehow, so fitting. *whistles innocently*
        Blessings,
        kiska

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: *GLOMP*
        You, my dear, are a little tease. Shiny things, eh? Clamps and such? I wonder how much you’d enjoy some nice metal bondage. Some of that stuff can be real shiny šŸ™‚
        I miss Firefly in general. I hate, Hate, HATE the fucking idiot FOX morons who can’t understand when they have a good thing.
        Of course, I’m not too enamored with Joss since he did kill off a great character.
        As for Jaynestown? Yup. One of my favorite lines: “No…no this is what it feels like to go insane.”
        Almost as good as “Well, my days of not takin’ you seriously are certainly comin’ to a middle.”

      • Re: *GLOMP*
        *grins* i prefer leather and rope, for the scent and sensation. i have a real thing for scents. Thankfully, my Master loves to do wicked and delicious things to me. And leather shines sometimes! As does the Tiger Claw that He uses on me while i’m…otherwise incapacitated.
        i miss it too. i agree about FOX having morons on staff who wouldn’t know a good idea if it bopped them on their noses. Well…except for Bones. i like Bones.
        *nods* i hated Wash dying. i didn’t see any purpose to that at all. Grr. That made me so sad.
        i think i like pretty much all the dialogue in Firefly, but there are certainly some real gems. And Master was amused by my crush on Kaylee. i wanted to gobble her right on up.

    • mdsandler says:

      Re: *GLOMP*
      I actually formatted it and sent it to one of those book binding places for my own copy. (Yeah, I’d emailed darkpen before I did it for permission).
      I could dig around and find the link for it if you want..

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: *GLOMP*
        Wait… you actually paid someone to print it for you? AND you found someone who would actually print it?
        Wow. Send me the link too, if you wouldn’t mind.

      • mdsandler says:

        Re: *GLOMP*
        Hah.. yeah. I had to reformat it for submission and then paid for the print.
        I can give you the link, but I should warn you I screwed up the formatting for Book 1 and it changes font part way though.
        If you wanna give the link out I should fix that problem.
        NIS –
        Book 1 –
        And no, I don’t have it set to make any profit from this šŸ™‚

      • Re: *GLOMP*
        md, you so rock!!! As soon as i have enough money in my bank account, i’m placing an order.
        Thanks so much!
        Blessings,
        kiska

      • mdsandler says:

        Re: *GLOMP*
        Well, gimme a few days. The editing slaves need to reformat it so it doesn’t change font in the middle (unless you don’t care)

      • Re: *GLOMP*
        Trust me, you have some time. i don’t get paid until next friday, LOL, so i wouldn’t have enough at the moment anyway.
        No rush at all. ^_^

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: *GLOMP*
        I wonder just how many people would actually pay to get the book? I mean, my other stuff sells, but not like wildfire or anything…

  7. jttbear says:

    While I am not an architect, I am a set designer and I would be happy to take a stab at drafting the layout of the mansion.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Well now, I can get you the information that I currently have on the Mansion. Of course, you could get it from Avatar chapters, but that would be kind of insanely tedious šŸ™‚
      If you’re serious, email me at the gmail darkpen addy, and I’ll send the info along. Not that there’s all that much, unfortunately. Or maybe fortunately, since then you can use a bit of your imagination.

  8. wtriker says:

    woooooooohooooooooo. finally! a new chapter! i really have one complaint about it… it’s too short hehe šŸ˜€ … about 6 times the lenght would be sufficient – for a day or 2 hehehehe šŸ˜€
    i have the habbit to read 1 chapter before a new one, just to refresh my memmory a bit. you know, like the “what happened so far” you see in every tv-show šŸ™‚ … i knew i had something to say and now i finally remembered it…
    that docror Alison something…. i know the perfect actress to play her… once i read the name i got an image of her in my head… it’s Jennifer Morrison. That chick from House. She’s perfect – reserved and unsure at first, but can sometimes be really pushy … didn’t have any other “visuals” so far, but this one seems perfect…
    anyway, i totaly envy you for the kink tour. not being a fan of all of them, (won’t get into details for now), but Princess Donna is just WHOA!!…
    on a personal notice – life can really suck, and of course we all have bills to pay. but sometimes a lil bit of sun shines down on us and business is well (like for me this past 14 days… so, i really hope business goes well for you too, but not cuz i’m such a nice guy (which i am btw šŸ˜‰ but so you can get the next chapter out in less than 4 months :D…
    Greetings,
    Alex
    p.s. and you didn’t even try to “sell” one of your Avatar sceenes to kink?! You were there !!! Dammit, do i have to take over the manager spot? šŸ˜‰ hehehe šŸ™‚

    • Dark Pen says:

      A chapter six times longer? Naa. People’d get bored. Then I’d lose my audience.
      You know, I did a quick search on Jennifer Morrison, and I have to agree with you — she’d be a perfect fit. Way cool.
      I didn’t try and sell Kink anything. I didn’t think it would be appropriate, since they were doing me a favor by showing me the place. I did mention that they might want to look into setting up some ebook sales, but I haven’t heard back on that, so they might not be overly interested.

      • wtriker says:

        heh well, now ur wrong. ppl actualy CAN’T be bored of avatar. I started by reading till chapter 22 when i found it. Then i didn’t know you finihed book 1. When i found it, i read the chapters 23-end in one piece. took me a few hrs but well who cared šŸ˜€ …
        you see, Avatar is like the movie you hope it never ends. or a tv show for which you want the next episode be on air right after you watched this one. at one point in the past i’d say that’s just me, but seeng these comments the past few… months…, i’d say it isn’t just me šŸ˜€
        What did you find out about Morrison that made you think she’d fit the role? I know for me it was her looks that just “fit” and her “House characte”.
        Anyway, let me see about that kink thing. If i can get any email from them. Damn their “complaints form”. I don’t want to complain. Well i am now. hehehe

      • Dark Pen says:

        You want to see about what Kink thing?
        As for Jennifer, I’ve never seen house. But the first picture I came up with on Google just seemed to fit the prim and proper school teacher with really deep seated sexual desires. Of course, I’d never assume she was like that at all, but that’s what the picture conveyed to me.

  9. zerok0 says:

    Kindle
    I’ve also been debating about getting a kindle.
    I just recently started putting together a pros and cons list.
    Pros:
    fast to get next book.
    can carry a bunch of books at once.
    cool teck (ok I’m a geek what do you expect :))
    Cons:
    Can’t use it during take off on a plane, which being that planes often sit on the runway for a while, it’s nice to be able to read (I fly enough for this to be a problem)
    I like to go to the beach and read, leaving a book out while I go for a quick swim is fine… But a kindle is expensive
    And yes I know I can still buy regular books, but if I am in the middle of reading a book on the kindle, I’m not going to start another book just because I’m in a place where I can’t/shouldn’t use the kindle.
    One thing I’ve been trying to figure out is if I can fit it in my jacket pocket like I can do with a paper back. (I always have a book with me since I don’t know when I will have a chance to sit and ready)
    Anyway keep up the writing, can’t wait for the next chapter :).

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Kindle
      See? This is why I love the internet. You brought up some good points — especially the plane thing, although I don’t travel enough to worry about it. Nor, unfortunately, do I get to the beach thing nearly enough.
      You’re point about being able to just buy it in paperback form is also well taken. Yes, one could just buy the book, but the whole point is that you don’t want to have to buy the physical book.
      Thanks for your thoughts and if you have any more, feel free to post. If I get the Kindle, and at this point I’m pretty sure I’m going to, I’ll let you know if it’s any good.

  10. Anonymous says:

    new chapter
    A new chapter!!!! Finally!!! I was almost ready to give up hope. If I beg with submissive_kisa for more chapter’s will it possibly pursuade you to post more? I know I’m greedy but im also hooked. I swear im good at begging….Im sure she will beg with me…two of us begging, how much better could it get?

    • Re: new chapter
      *grins* Nice offer anon. Tandem begging for more story, how much better could it get?
      Blessings,
      kiska

      • Dark Pen says:

        Re: new chapter
        How much better could it get? Hmmm… well… I guess it would depend. You could, after all, be begging for things other than the story šŸ™‚
        Anywho, the next chapter’s almost done. I just have to finish writing this really hot sex scene with Cindy and… oops. Didn’t wanna give that away. Just ignore that. Forget anything having to do with the insanely cute, very sexy slave girl…

  11. Anonymous says:

    new chapter
    hmmm begging for something more then more story……well if your writing is any clue I’m sure I would enjoy myself immensely but alas I am already owned. Will just have to wait impatiently for more story….no fair teasing about a hot sex scene though.

  12. Anonymous says:

    KINK.com
    This sounds like a real treat seeing the KINK.com school. I really want to explore that facility… they should offer tours for us hardcore fans (ok, pun intended). Princess Donna is great, but I take it that you did not meet Madison Young since you haven’t mentioned it.
    I still like the Training of O series, but it tends to feel repetitive girl after girl. As a change of pace, I watched some their Fucking Dungeon series. wow! Two girls of note are August and Cindy Crawford. Both lovely women and take to bondage well šŸ™‚
    A girl I would love to see more into the BDMS scene is Bree Olsen. I saw her is a soft bondage scene in a movie (I am trying to recall the name) and she was great (soft bondage, hardcore sex). I think she would be great at KINK.com (hint hint).
    Hedonist

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: KINK.com
      Heh. Don’t bother to hint at Kink from here — as far as I know, no one there reads this blog.
      As for who I’d like to meet? I’ll tell you, I’d love to spend an evening doing dinner and hanging out with the following people:
      Princess Donna
      James
      Madison Young
      Sarah Jane
      and Matt.
      I’ve met Cyd, but it was very briefly and years ago, so I know he wouldn’t remember me. But I think that those people I listed would be fascinating to spend an evening talking with.
      Of course, there are lots of other things that would be interesting to do, but honestly, when it comes to BDSM, I really doubt that I’d be able to give those girls any kind of experience they haven’t already had.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Avatar
    Pen, thanks for upping the latest chapter. I know that life gets in the way of things, and we appreciate your ongoing devotion to this novel. I know you are seeing some success in your “writing for money” stories and I am very glad you are sticking with your long-time fans on this. Even though some of us don’t visit a couple of times a week like we used to, we still visit šŸ™‚
    I am a BDSM fan and love when you stay on those topics, so this chapter was a nice tease into Cindy’s sadism. I am also a fan of how the religion/society is going to grow/prosper, so getting some discussion around that was nice too… even if it too was only a tease. It must be tough to focus on the individual lives of those in the circle and still come up with high level strategy around the prosperity of the circle. Finding a balance that will keep us all wanting more is a gift. You know… a little fit of Fiona, little bit of Jane, expand the influence…. lots of stuff to keep track of and mix into the chapters.
    Keep writing, Pen…and thanks again.
    Hedonist

Leave a Reply

