Moooore Avatar!

Sheesh… I really need to post more often. Actually, what I really need is more time to write. I’ve been in crisis mode for so long now, I’m sort of forgetting what it’s like to have time to relax. Not a good thing.

So… this next part of my blog entry is for the geeks — and even they might find it a tad boring, but I gotta talk about this.

Several years ago, I bought a DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra motherboard. Quite overcloclockable — not that I intended to do that. However, the northbridge fan was a piece of shit, and in less than a month, I had to replace it. Which meant ripping out the entire MB. Tech support said they could send me another fan, but admitted it was shit, and told me which after market fan to buy. That alone will keep me from ever buying another one of their products, despite the mostly adequate tech support (which, now that I think if it, came mainly from their forums).

Anywho, it’s about 2 years later and the fucking fan went again. We were not amused.

However, since I’d bought more than one replacement fan, I discovered that I didn’t actually have to remove the entire MB and pull the heatsink part of the fan off the chipset — just unscrew the dying fan and replace it with a new one. Niiiice.

Then there’s the Seagate Barracuda issue. What a fucking piece of shit. No matter how good a price you get on a 1.5 TB drive, if the fucking thing bricks on boot up, it’s NOT a good deal. I’ve always hated Seagate drives — I had to put one in my TiVo and it sounds like a fucking chainsaw in my livingroom — and I’ve always thought they were pieces of shit. Since the company hasn’t even bothered to put out a working update to the firmware to fix their problem (oh, they tried, but that firmware bricked the 500GB drives….), I think that’ll be the last one of their drives I ever get. So Seagate, fuck you.

Now, on to the reason ( I assume) most people read this blog: Avatar.

I did warn you all about this chapter. I did tell you I didn’t want to post it until I had finished the next chapter. But you guys made me feel really guilty, so I finally gave up and posted it, even though the next chapter’s not finished. So um… sorry. If it helps any, the next chapter’s almost finished.

I know that many of you think that this chapter means that the conflict is going to start heating up. Consider this just… oh… a few random bullets coming across the field. Remember, this book is called Establishment for a reason! The next one is Conflict.

I won’t give up on writing Avatar, as some have worried. I just wish that my life would stop sucking long enough to get back to writing once a day instead of like, maybe a few times a month.

Oh, and the reason for the lateness of the chapter has nothing to do with my long-suffering editor. It’s because I’m lame.

Anyway, thank you folks for sticking with me. I really appreciate it.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Moooore Avatar!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Pleasant Surprise
    And because a two-word-comment might seem a little too spartan I just put the heart of the message in the subject-line and ramble on a little more here.
    Avatar was one of the first real stories (as opposed to just descriptions of sex) I read on SOL and I still check regularly and with great anticipation if there are any updates. I particularly like the new chapter because (viewed on it’s own) it’s a nice mixture of sexy parts and story-development. So: good work and hopefully you’ll have more time to invest in developing your Avatar-Universe in the future. πŸ™‚
    Greetings, ManKyYen

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Pleasant Surprise
      Thanks!
      I do strive to write good sex and a good story. I think that’s part of my problem — I’d rather be writing a good story than good sex, but I appear to be incapable of writing anything without sex as the driving force…

  2. Anonymous says:

    Nice update
    It’s a nice update, but now I really hope that the next chapter will arrive sooner than the last one!
    I totally agree with the previous comment. Avatar is in my opinion the best story running on SOL.
    Best of luck getting your lift to “stop sucking”!

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Nice update
      I’m going to try and get this one out faster. There are no guarantees, of course πŸ™‚
      You’ll note that I did warn you guys about this chapter πŸ™‚

  3. Anonymous says:

    seagate
    the seatgate drives firmware was patched on friday – you should be able to use the drives again. (assuming its a barracuda.11) – i had a 250gb barracuda.10 but it was doa getting a replacement atm
    thanks for the update πŸ™‚

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: seagate
      I removed the drive and replaced it. It’ll go back into a ‘puter as soon as I have space for it and I’ll patch it.
      And yup, it was a 7200.11 1.5 TB.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Loved the new chapter. But as some one posted it’s going to be a bitch waiting for the next one now… πŸ™‚
    As for your HW problems…
    Fans die! That’s not an opinion but a fact. And the smaller ones die quicker, so any fan on a chipset HS is likely to die sooner rather than later. With that in mind I don’t think you should be so hard on DFI for a dying fan. If you’ve had other problems, or if their products doesn’t meet your needs then that’s another thing. Personally I’m not interested in overclocking at all and as DFI has been single mindedly targeting the overclockers I’ve lost interest in most of their products.
    So far I haven’t found one single motherboard manufacturer with decent support, and DFI certainly doesn’t seem any worse in that respect than most others. At the moment I’m partial for Tyan, SuperMicro, and Gigabyte. And I don’t want to see another MSI, ASUS, or ASRock motherboard. But that’s just from my personal experiences and you will have no problem finding a lot of people spewing hate over Tyan, SuperMicro, and Gigabyte while they have nothing but love for MSI, ASUS, and ASRock…
    Then there’s your HDD problem…
    Seagate fucked up so bad it’s not even funny this time! There I’ve said it. It was a royal cluster fuck.
    However it’s done. They’ve apparently fixed it, though it took way too long, and it’s time to let it go.
    If you think Seagate drives are shit then you’re in a very uncomfortable situation now because all the other manufacturers suck at least as bad as Seagate. If I were to go on past history I wouldn’t be able to buy any HDD’s ever again.
    WesternDigital? Raptors dying in droves, Raid Edition drives that’s incompatible with major brand raid controllers (had to replace 150 drives at a customer because of that. WD paid for for the drives but not for my time), abundant performance problems, refuses to publish HW specifications and data for certain drive families.
    Hitachi? Bought the IBM HDD branch and got the entire DeathStar legacy with it.
    Samsung? Got a dead drive by my side right now. Tons of people posting about drive after drive failing.
    Toshiba? Only makes notebook drives and had a streak of horrible drives in the late 90’s.
    Fujitsu? Can’t remember anything bad about Fujitsu but for the fact that they only make SAS and SCSI drives, and apparently is looking at selling the HDD branch…
    So what HDD do you suggest I buy now? πŸ™‚

    • Dark Pen says:

      Yes. Fans die. However, the fan problem with this MB was well enough known that the forums were alive with talk about it. That’s the reason I was pissed. It was a known problem.
      Now, the fan that I replaced it with just died, but that was after 2 years, so while I wasn’t ecstatic, it wasn’t that big a deal to replace it — which was what I was really happy about.
      As for hard drives? I think they’re like religion, politics and operating systems. I don’t like Seagates. Never have, probably never will. I’ve used Western Digital drives for about 15 years or so. They have rarely failed on me, so I keep using them.
      As for DFI, well… sometimes it’s a matter of knowing your needs. I didn’t need this mother board, and should have gone with ASUS. But then a friend of mine had problems with the onboard LAN on those…
      (sigh) Computers. I fuckin’ hate ’em.

  5. Anonymous says:

    avatar
    like i posted before, love the new chapter but always could have used more. i personaly find when you rush a story (or any part of this enigma we call life) the final work suffers.
    as for your pc problems been there more than once my self.
    So ’till lea start a catholic school for girls, make mine Avatar
    R W Deweese

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: avatar
      I do try not to rush things. When I get into the ‘zone’ writing a chapter, everything flows well. The ‘zone’ used to come easily. Not so much anymore, but I still love to write, and I really wanna know what the Circle ends up doing in the future.

  6. steveh11 says:

    Nicely foreshadowed! The Tina/Cindy/Greg scene was fun too, and leaves me wondering what Amy’s part is going to be. πŸ˜‰
    It’s always good to get an update, but I know only too well how hard it can be to write sometimes. Don’t worry, your readers will stick with you.
    Steve.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Thanks
    Hi dark pen
    I am feeling a bit guilty about having bugged you… but thanks a lot for posting.
    And all the best for you.
    Greez

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Thanks
      No guilt necessary. People nudge me now and again, and I guess it’s a good thing since it lets me know that people are still interested in the story.
      I’m sorry I require nudging, but well, life is.

  8. Lovely chapter!
    Aw, i really do love this chapter. Thanks so much for posting! i’m uber-curious about what happens next of course…but i think to stave off that curiosity, i’ll just re-read the whole darn series again. *grins*
    Sorry about your ‘puter-ish problems. my geekdom only goes so far…Master makes up the rest of it.
    *ahem* i’m just a li’l bit loopy tonight…sort of still floating from earlier in the day. *happy sigh*
    i do look forward to more Avatar, and i’ll probably bug you about it periodically…but it’s just TOO GOOD not to pester you for more. Take care!
    Blessings,
    becca

  9. dragonklj says:

    Newbie Ramblings
    Yo, first-time LJ poster, long-time Avatar fan.
    MB fans, yes they suck, solution is to get a Mobo with no fans, just passive cooling, and get a good case & cooling: recommend MSI for Mobo’s and CooolerMaster Stacker Series for cases.
    HD’s, I’m convinced it’s down to the person, some people never have a seagate die on them, other like me, never have them last more than a month. I personally love the newer Hitachi’s.
    Now a small question, I have immensely enjoyed avatar Books 1 & 2 (to chp 24) and I’ve just found A:NIS. Now, is there any more Avatar after Book 2 chp 24, and if so, how can I obtain it? Both Asstr and BDSM library don’t have any more that I can find, any help would be appreciated.
    DK

  10. Anonymous says:

    Nudge time?
    You said: People nudge me now and again, and I guess it’s a good thing since it lets me know that people are still interested in the story.
    I’m sorry I require nudging, but well, life is.
    So I reply, Nudge, nudge…
    Well it HAS been a couple of weeks since anyone’s nudged you…
    ~ The Scribbler.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Avatar
    Nudge nudge

  12. Anonymous says:

    *big nudge*
    You can’t wait for fangirling emails every time, you know…
    -xy

Leave a Reply

