Twilight

Okay, I have not read this series of books, and I don’t intend to. But what I want to know, is what the fuck is it with the supposed vampires in these books? I mean, what makes them vampires? They do drink blood, but hell, so do people into blood-play. They’re pale and avoid the sun, but that applies to any number of smoking hot redheads on this planet.

They can apparently go out into the daylight, they eat normal food. They don’t appear to have any super strength or other abilities. They sound like pale people with a few odd dietary needs.

So… can someone state for me the Twilight rules for a vampire?

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Twilight

  1. attackgypsy says:

    Don’t ask me, I have no clue. The whole thing makes me scratch my head and go “WTF?”
    Get all glittery in the sun? What kind of vampire is this?

  2. Anonymous says:

    Twighlight Vamp
    The vampires in this series all have super strength and speed. They eat normal food, but get ne sustenance from it. They also generaly have some type of power….one can read minds, another is an empath, and so on.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I don’t see much use in “stating the Twilight rules for a vampire” for someone who’s not willing to read the books (which ROCK, btw!). It’s kinda like trying to explain electronics to someone not interested in them. Personally, I enjoy a very WIDE range of reading material from sci-fi to erotica, but that doesn’t mean that others that do the same enjoy the same material as I do. Looking forward to the next Avatar chapter and hoping your life is on an upswing! πŸ˜‰
    Dani

    • Dark Pen says:

      Well Dani, I’m sorry you feel that way. How about maybe I was just curious? I don’t normally read adolescent fantasy books because when it comes to sex, I like things more explicit. Can write about a teen in America actually HAVING sex — unless they’re punished for it in some way. You know, they’ve been raped, forced or got pregnant. Nope, in America, teens aren’t allowed to actually ENJOY sex, cuz it’s evil and bad and immoral.
      Me asking for the basic rules is not kind of like trying to explain electronics or computers (both of which I understand fine) because it’s a simple set of rules which can be simply stated.
      The reason why I wanted to know, was that I was reading something that I thought might be fanfic from that universe, and I was curious.
      I too, enjoy a wide range of reading material — enough that if I don’t like something, I have no desire to push through it.

  4. attackgypsy says:

    I should have stated this…
    I prefer the Laurel Hamilton “Anita Blake” series vampires myself. Very detailed as the series goes on as to what they can and can not do.

    • Dark Pen says:

      She has certainly stuck to the more traditional vampire. I’ve read all the Anita Blake series.

      • rdeweese says:

        you may want to check out either Cristian Feehan’s Dark books or Sherilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter books. Both have their own take on the vampire myth but are less traditional.
        Vampires and BDSM can prove to be an odd yet compelling story if done right. So ’till Knife trades his motorcycle for a cop car. Make mine Avatar.

      • Anonymous says:

        Vamps
        I’m also a big fan of the “Anita Blake” books, as well as the (unrelated) “Merry Gentry” stories. However, I should point out that you’re NOT going to get the same sense of the series from the early books as you are from the latter ones. As a comparison, I’d have to point to the John Norman’s Gor novels; what starts out as horror fantasy (SF fantasy in Gor’s case) soon becomes explicit erotica that seems to spend half the novel looking at Anita’s sexual situations, rather than the presumed case that she would be involved in.

  5. lintpuppy says:

    Well..
    I read a bit and every once and a while I will dip into the junior section more for nostalgia then anything else. Also I tend to read fast..not always a good thing πŸ˜›
    That being said I will probably just catch the movie version of this for no other reason that when going to a different film I saw people I wouldn’t expect to enjoy a film like this buying tickets which made me curious.
    Honestly though its vampire lore…which has been repeatedly raped by authors for a looong time making them everything from aliens ala Neroscope to lame via Buffy, so why not glittery sun lovin vamps?
    Nobody has actually done to much in the way of reinventing the wheel lately Hamilton, Harrison, Huff..all pretty much the same type of vamp. They tend to concentrate on the vampire as a sex symbol rather then a predator or at least thats what it seems to me. So maybe Twilight is the next step broody emo daylight “hey by the way I drink blood” vamps.
    Anyhow! I wanted to post to say I love your Avatar series so far though I haven’t read the last couple chapters yet, but I doubt that will change my opinion much. It did make me sign up for this live journal thingy though.

  6. Anonymous says:

    twilight vampires have strength, speed, and fast reflexes. they never sleep and can go out in sun. they do not eat food suriving only on blood. the Cullens clan do not hunt humans. there skin dose glitter in the sun. Some have other powers.
    On another note love the new chapter of Avatar.’till Cindy trades her favored flogger for Hannah Montana tickets. Make mine Avatar.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Yeah, I saw the movie, was wasn’t too bad, actually.
      As for your quote (and I love those, BTW):
      “’till Cindy trades her favored flogger for Hannah Montana tickets. Make mine Avatar. ”
      What if Cindy and Tina just USED a whip on Hanna Montana (who I’m sure I could look up to see what she looks like, but haven’t bothered…)

  7. Anonymous says:

    Pen…we have discussed books in that past and you have seemed to have similar taste as Me (in both stuff we read and the stuff you write).
    Sometimes I want to read fantasy, sometimes Sci-Fi, and other times Urban Fantasy (what they are calling the modern vampire stuff). In saying that, I also must point out that I don’t wish to read sex stuff all the time it gets tedious and frankly I prefer my sexy stuff to be BDSM and if every author decided they were going to add their own sexy stuff into it, I would be not enjoy reading as much as I do.
    Personally I loved the Twilight series, especially book 4. And honestly, I could give a rats ass about them not detailing their sex even if it was a little rough when there was sex πŸ˜›
    I was not as fond of the 2nd book in the series and the rest either… but overall, it was a fun series
    I am reading a different story right now (Night Huntress series) where I would say the sex actually lessens the story…here we have an exciting chase and… let’s stop the action for a sex scene…. *yawns*
    I like my sex to be how I like my sex… that is why I have read Avatar for all these years.
    As for the young adult aspect… I shudder to think of the fun I have had reading the Harry Potter series which is “Young Adult.”
    If you are not going to read Twilight (or Harry Potter for that matter) because some marketing jerk put “Young Adult” on the spine, then you My friend are hurting only yourself by missing out on some fun reading.
    Her Sci-Fi book (which IS labeled adult), The Host, is actually even better then Twilight in my opinion.
    Hedonist

    • Dark Pen says:

      We have at that. I haven’t been able to get past the second book of the Night Huntress. I also like a variety — for instance, I’m currently reading the Lost Fleet books. They turned out to be somewhat formulaic, but still quite good.
      I tried to read the first Twilight book, but it didn’t grab me. Harry Potter, OTOH, really grabbed me and I’ve read all of them. I read all but the last of the Morganville Vampire books, which, while quite odd, were still very good.
      I read the synopsis of The Host and that didn’t grab me either. But I’m weird about stuff like that. Some times I’ll ignore a book for years, then blast through every one in the series.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Twilight
    They do drink blood and cannot eat regular food, they are super strong and super fast as well as have various other powers. Yes they can go out in bright sunlight but they don’t because they glitter if they do and are obviously non human then. And no I have not read the books just watched the movie.

Leave a Reply

