To Facebook or Not to Facebook

So that is the question. Does the Dark Pen join Facebook? I mean, I have a myspace page, but I don’t use the thing for anything. Everyone seems to be on Facebook, but as you can guess, I’m not interested in interacting with people as anyone other than the Dark Pen. An I wanna talk about BDSM and writing.

And occasionally rant about something. Maybe more than occasionally.

I just finished editing chapter 44 of Avatar. I’m of two minds about posting it. Mainly one says to post it, the other says “Finish chapter 45 FIRST!”.

Plus, my brain is totally scattered, so I can’t even work on the book I was writing.

Grrr. Argh.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to To Facebook or Not to Facebook

  1. attackgypsy says:

    I wouldn’t bother. Start your own blog if you want to. But don’t bother with Facebook or MySpace. Every creep in the world will come out.
    “Yes, I like BDSM. Especially where I get to hurt them so bad they bleed for days. Why not, they’re just all whores anyways”
    Yes, I have seen that exact comment. On Facebook.
    Just get a blog. WordPress is free software, just get a free website, and you’re all set. It doesn’t take long to set up.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Facebook
    I think that social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, etc. just leave you open to many difficulties, the least of which is anything you write on them comes around to bite you on the ass. The number of politicians around the world who have found this out first hand is staggering.

  3. jttbear says:

    First, I am always ready for more Avatar, and unless you are only paragraphs away from finishing 45, I say post 44.
    I resisted Facebook for a very long time. I joined, spent a few days playing around with it, and reconnected with a couple of friends from high school I hadn’t heard from in 20 years. I then promptly ignored it. To me Facebook doesn’t seem to meet your stated needs.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Facebook is not the answer….
    At least for what you apparently want to do. Its largely for staying in touch with friends who are not within driving distance. There are also a fair amount more idiots and otherwise ignorant folks who would love to bash BDSM and anything you had to say on facebook simply because it is so popular as well.
    Cant wait for more avater!
    Steve

  5. Anonymous says:

    I don’t think Facebook will work for you using your pseudonym. I think you would probably be breaching their T&C to register as DarkPen without your real name.
    And my impression (as other mention) is that you wouldn’t find many receptive potential readers there.
    Chapter 44 – well of course I’d love to see it now :), but otherwise hopefully out soon?

  6. Anonymous says:

    facebook
    i think you shouldn’t join facebook for the reasons above – you could create an avatar page that people could become a fan of.
    also my mind says post it πŸ™‚

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: facebook
      Um… not sure I understood your comment. You said I shouldn’t do facebook, but then you thought I could create an Avatar page? Not sure people would be interested in that…

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: facebook
        i was less sober at the time of posting it makes less sense now. indeed il stick with the avoid facebook argument,

  7. Anonymous says:

    facebook?
    You already have here, so unless you intend to use Facebook either as a replacement, or just another way to forward interested parties to here, I’d say no.
    There are plenty of good applications for fandom on facebook, but I don’t see how they’d be useful to an amateur (as in non-paid) author.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: facebook?
      Except that I am a paid author. I mean, sure, I write stuff for free, but I also do custom stories, and I have 3 books out on an ebook site and am working on a fourth. Plus, I’d like to be MORE of a paid author πŸ™‚
      I mean, I like writing Avatar, and I love the story. It’s not a story that can be told in a paid venue because of some of the content, so it’ll always be free.
      Maybe I’ll get a friend of mine to write a comic book version of it and put that out for sale πŸ™‚

  8. Anonymous says:

    No comment from me to the facebook-issue, because I avoid all social-networking-sites like the plaque.
    If you feel that writing chapter 45 before you post chapter 44 could increase the quality of chapter 44 then wait with posting. Otherwise: why are you waiting? πŸ™‚
    Greetings, ManKyYen

  9. swestrup says:

    If you were on facebook, I’d probably friend you, but then again I live in a BDSM-friendly city so I don’t have much to worry about publicity-wise.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Facebook
    I can’t friend you on Facebook, I can’t even follow a Facebook link to you or your site.
    A person is only allowed so many standard deviations of outside the box, especially sex related, before people start asking rude, hard questions, or outright shutting you out of society (and jobs). Hell, it’s probably not safe for me to post this without using TOR.

    Like your work though…

  11. Anonymous says:

    Facebook
    DarkPen
    I have just finished reading abd enjoying Avatar again. I first came across it on ASSTR a couple of years ago.I know you got distracted with Avatar-NIS as a side story, but I think it would be great to add more to Avatar. I have enjoyed most of your stories that I have come across.
    I would appreciate your points of view on facebook.
    Cheers
    Nikki Kernovii

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Facebook
      Well, don’t know if I’ll get on facebook. Doesn’t seem like the sort of place that would appreciate BDSM discussions.
      However, Avatar is alive and well, if growing a bit slowly, at Storiesonline.net Which is a free site. So if you’re interested, I think there’s currently 43 chapters of Book 2 up.

  12. Anonymous says:

    chapter 44
    If I had ANY say in the matter, it would be POST IT! NOW! Or better yesterday….
    As I have No say in the matter I do only say I hope to see it soon. Can’t wait for it, but wait I will

Leave a Reply

