New Chapter

Yup. The new chapter is up. I’m flyin’ without a net here, since the next chapter’s not finished. Argh.

Being able to write is not just about time. It’s about your mental state as well. Lately, as much as I love Avatar, I haven’t been getting into the head space of the story. Although I’ve gotten some future chapters of Book 2 written — that part is almost a side story in and of itself — and there’s a Conflict story I really love that I occasionally work on. Mostly though, when I’ve been writing, it’s been on this latest book that I want to put out. Damned thing’s like 10 chapters, and I’m not done yet. Sometimes the sex gets in the way, but hey, it’s SUPPOSED to be a sex story, so whatevs.

I did end up going onto facebook, but not under the Dark Pen name. It’s interesting, but I can see why it wouldn’t be overly useful for Dark Pen, since I really have no one to connect to. I suppose that I’ll just use Fetlife for that.

For those of you who keep wondering why I spend time on social websites instead of keeping my nose to the writing grindstone, well, as I said, for me writing is about being in a head space. Currently, this other story seems to be flowing pretty well, so I’m stickin’ with it. Many of you won’t be happy, because it’s a commercial work, but well… that’s where I want to ultimately head.

Additionally, my life has the possibility of really going to shit. What else is new, right? Work is getting tight at work, and the fact that we have so very many managers who are utterly unable to do their job, coupled with the fact that the company itself really only cares about the upper, upper crust of the company personal, things are tough. Of course, they are all over, and I’m glad I’ve had a job for this long, but if I lose it, well… without medical insurance things would not be so good.

Anywho, I’m still chuggin’ along, tryin’ not to buy trouble. Of course, nowadays, you don’t have to buy it — it’s being given away for free!

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Avatar and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Chapter

  1. Anonymous says:

    Free vs Commercial
    Hi,
    First of all, I just wanted to say thank you for another great chapter, and to wish you continued success in your future writings. I lost track of your writings for a while, but a friend of mine whom I believe you were acquainted with at some point was kind enough to point me in the right direction.
    I would also like comment on the issue of free vs commercial intellectual material. While some people may think that goods and creative works both should be shared freely, I personally do not consider this to be a viable option in today’s society. As I pay for my food, clothes, electricity and yes, several Kink.com subscriptions [/shameless plug] with my hard-earned money, I see no reason why authors of erotic fiction should not be able to charge for material that I consider to be the equivalent to any other genre of fiction I read and enjoy.
    Some people believe that writing erotic fiction is something anyone can do, which may be why they think it should be free. However, to me there is a very clear distinction between good works of fiction and great works of fiction. Some of the stories you find on the web are all right for a quick wank or as a fun read, but it takes a skilled author such as yourself to create a setting and characters that I can immerse myself in.
    Finally, I would just like to say that I have purchased all three of your published stories and I have enjoyed them all immensely, and Office Games in particular. So, from reader to author, I’d just like to say keep up the good work and know that I certainly look forward to reading more of your work.
    Regards,
    Martin
    PS: I would like to thank you for the favor you did for Nerwen some time ago now. I’m not sure if you remember it or if I even properly thanked you for it, but I really appreciated the gesture. Feel free to contact me at digitaloverride (at) gmail.com if you ever feel like catching up.

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: Free vs Commercial
      Ahh Nerwen. How is she doing? Very interesting girl.
      As for the favor, you’re most welcome. I’m sorry things ended up the way they did. Very sorry. I never posted what I wrote anywhere. It’s quite buried.
      Thank you for buying all my stuff. As I mentioned, I’m working on more, although things are going slowly.

      • Anonymous says:

        Re: Free vs Commercial
        Nerwen is seemingly doing very well. Having been rather absent from life in general for two years I actually just reconnected with her myself, so I’ll be sure to let her know you asked about her *grins*. And I certainly agree; she is indeed a very interesting girl.
        Regarding the favour, I just wanted to let you know that Katherine really appreciated the work you did; we both did. I still have a copy and read it from time to time as it was something she held quite dear. You really did manage to create a connection based on very little source material, so thank you again for that.
        After catching up on your journal, I’m sorry to hear that you’re struggling to write and that things are a bit of a burden in general. I certainly see where you’re coming from regarding your current work situation. I work for a large, multinational corporation in Europe, and while American politics do not directly affect my every day life I can relate to most of your expressed feelings in general. Again, if you ever want to talk feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
        Thanks again for keeping on writing despite the difficulties.
        Regards,
        Martin

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’d like to add my comment to the above.
    I’ve followed your work for a long time and have never made contact.
    I too, have purchased all three of the books you have for sale, having initially bought Office Games after you removed it from your asstr site.
    I’ve really enjoyed all 3 of them.
    I confess that I’m yet to read through Avatar. With how much you’ve written, it’s actually a little daunting to get in to it.
    I have a few questions that I’m hoping you can answer.
    1.) There is a story archived in newsgroups called “Dancer”. I’ve never seen you post either here or your asstr site any info on it. Is it actually yours? Is there a reason it doesn’t exist anywhere except in old archives? It’s a good story and it’s always a treat to find more Dark Pen works!
    2.) You’ve mentioned in the past that you’re hoping to write a sequel to Curt’s Slaves. Is this still likely to happen? I can promise you that you’ll get at least one sale here for the next part 🙂
    I understand things aren’t going well, and am hoping this doesn’t sound like a pressuring, annoying fan email. Just wanted to let you know there are people out there who love your work who don’t normally post.
    Regards,
    Gwai Lo

    • Dark Pen says:

      Well thank you for the sales. They are always appreciated.
      Answers:
      1) Let that be a lesson to you. Dancer was a story that never worked out that I posted part of many years ago. People STILL ask about the damned thing 🙂
      2) Yes, I do plan to continue Curt’s slaves. Not sure when, but the basics of the story are framed out, and I want to write it.

Leave a Reply

