Dark Pen fanfic? WTF????

Heh. I had a me, petard & hoisted moment today.

Someone asked me if they could write a fanfic based on one of my books.

Now, I’ve always been of the opinion that if yer not makin’ money off it, and yer not ruining it for the author, no one (including the author) should give you shit for writing fanfic. Hell, I’ve written a few fics myself.

But before I could even reply to the very politely worded email, I found a resounding NO rolling around in my head. WTF?

I’m a small time author. It’d be tough to be more small time than I am. I mean hell, I’ve only got 4 commercial ebooks out. I don’t even FEEL like a real author because I have nothing in print. I have a bunch of free stories floating around on the net, as well as the commercial stuff, but big time I am not.

This person emailed me the other day to ask if I’d be writing a followup to one of my books. And while I can always THINK of something to write past the end of a book, I had, and still have, no intention of writing a followup to the one he was asking about. If I did, my answer to him would have been a clear no, because that’s what HE wants to do.

Likewise if someone asked to write in the Avatar world, the answer would be a clear no. Thank you, I’m flattered but no. I’m no where NEAR finished with that world and I don’t want anyone else’s muddy boots stomping around in it. Not, mind you, that I could stop someone. But I think some of my fans would boycott an Avatar fanfic that I was clearly against. Although maybe not.

So, I’m confused. And I feel like a total hypocrite (even though I haven’t given him an answer yet). The guy has done EVERYTHING that I always thought a polite person should do before writing a fan fic. But I still want to say no. I don’t think I will, but I want to. This doesn’t make me happy with me.

Part of this is because I don’t know what he wants to DO with said fanfic, and I was too flustered to ask him (and that happens almost never.) I guess that I feel if you have something wildly popular and commercially successful, that you should expect people to want to … play off it. Experiment off it. But for someone like me, who’d so small time, it never occurred to me that someone would ever bother to try and write fanfic.

So… thoughts anyone?
Pen

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Avatar. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dark Pen fanfic? WTF????

  1. As someone who has been reading your material since the first Avatar, I think it’s great that someone wants to recognize your efforts and pay tribute to you. Seems as if you’d want to look into what he intends to do with the story and see what kind of taste it leaves in your mouth before you completely shut it down. That would be my first step. Beyond that, who knows? If you aren’t feeling it, you aren’t feeling it. No need to find reasons to force yourself to say yes if it isn’t sitting right with you. Just my 2 cents.
    DT

  2. Anonymous says:

    Help them
    Let them write it, providing they let you proof any *major* story line things, so then, you still have control what goes on in your universe :).. and they get to write a fan fic, and I’m sure the author would love your input

  3. Anonymous says:

    Fanfic
    I have to agree with Inquisitive, find out what the writer wants to do, then decide. Discussing it with him/her may give you ideas where you may want to take your work to.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Ditto

  5. Anonymous says:

    Everyone wants to protect their terrority
    But the real question is: will his work be hurting you in any way? If it’s going to cost you then I’d consider saying no. On the other hand extending your work would call more attention to it. Making a friend could lead to a valuable contact in the future. The fact is someone who wants to steal from you wouldn’t ask first. Perhaps his point of view is different than yours but that would tend to call attention to a wider audience. I’d seriously consider saying yes – but with a little caution.
    By the way, I’m glad that you intend continue Avatar. It’s one of the best fantasy stories I’ve read -anywhere!
    Titan2

  6. Anonymous says:

    avatar, an ongoing passion
    I too, as many others have expressed as well, have been reading Avatar for some years now. the fact that there is an actual storyline and characters among so many that are fairly shallow is why I keep coming back. I too, have started doing some writing on a few occasions, and even have a story that may one day be posted to SoL. this brings me back to my point. being such a good story, Avatar has also piqued my interest as a universe I would like to write in. I fully understand that it’s “your baby” so to speak, but still the desire is there to do something that supports that which you have already written.
    it may surprise you Pen, that there would indeed be a great number of people that would be willing to read something in the same vein as your stories thus far. I know for certain that I would give each author the same support if only to see what they would have to contribute to this universe. as a previous comment stated, keep control over the outlines that you have, proof read peoples contributions and reject them if they don’t measure up. the Avatar universe wouldn’t be getting the requests for others to contribute if they thought the work that you have done so far wasn’t worthy. and I doubt that anyone of the fans would want to see something sub par being added. people want to add to an already fantastic piece of work. this may as u fear take something away, but that said, it could also generate a much broader universe that continues to be much loved by so many.
    NastyRasH101
    (long term Avatar lover)

    • Dark Pen says:

      Re: avatar, an ongoing passion
      Your question deserved an entire blog post, so feel free to go read it 🙂
      It should be noted, however, that the ‘YOU’ in that post isn’t directed specifically at you. It’s a general ‘you’, so no offense meant.

Leave a Reply

