Service Society

Lazlo Zalezac wrote this great story on SOL called Service Society.   Generally, I don’t read SoL stories like this because they just don’t interest me.  But I like Lazlo’s writing and decided to give it a try.

I wasn’t disappointed.  I was horrified, but not by the story or poor writing.  I was horrified by how spot on the story is.

In short, it’s about where our society is moving to when it comes to corporations in America.  It shows how workers are losing more and more of their lives every day to corporations that use and abuse us.

We’re not quite where the story is, but it wouldn’t take us much to get there.  And if the current crop of idiotic, screaming, whining children we call congressmen (and women) don’t begin to think of the country rather than their corporate masters, we WILL be there in fewer years than I care to think.

Lazlo’s story has nothing to do with politics though.  It’s about one man who finally has had enough and leaves the company that’s destroyed his life.  In the story, he doesn’t view himself as a hero, and he’s certainly nowhere near perfect.  But he has a vision of what a real service society should look like and tries to bring it about.

So many of the concepts in this story stand out to me as common sense:  Making products that work.  Letting engineers, not morons from marketing — and certainly not idiotic managers — design and build products.  Like building products that are designed to last longer than the GE mandated 3 months

I wonder what it would be like to live in a world like that?  Because I have the feeling I’m never going to see it.  OUR ‘service society’ will mean getting on our knees and sucking off our corporate masters.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Social, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

