Avatar for the Holidays

Dec 17 2011

Well, here’s to hoping the holiday season is finding you all well. You might (or might not) have noticed I haven’t been blogging much. The reason for that is because it would be extremely difficult for me to keep politics out of the blog. I am so utterly and completely disgusted with the government, so despondent over what they’ve done to our country, that the best I could do is rant. People don’t want to read a rant. And while it’s my blog, I do like it when people read the thing. Plus, politics are slippery. I know that I stopped reading Michael Z. Williamson’s books after I’d read his blog for a while. A more conceited, arrogant asswipe I’ve rarely encountered.

So, that’s what I haven’t written in the blog. Politics and the idiocy going on in this country have been pretty overwhelming for me.

Anyway, I present to you the latest chapter of Avatar. I really am working hard to finish this book, but there are a huge number of loose ends to tie up. Plots to converge, characters to bring in and a Circle to complete. I have worked on nothing BUT Avatar for months, believe it or not. Hell, I haven’t even put out a commercial book this last year, although I did write something back in June.

That’s gotta change though. I love Avatar, but if I restrict myself to only working on _it_, I’ll probably fall out of love. I feel the press from other stories that I want to tell, and, quite frankly, try and sell. I do have one thing that I’m going to put up on Smashwords and Amazon — hopefully in the next few days. It’s a very nice, romantic, BDSM (of course) story. Of course, I can’t put it up under the Dark Pen name because well, Dark Pen stories contain completely fictional accounts of completely fictional characters who are not above the State Approved Age for sex, having sex. And worse, they’re enjoying it, and we simply can’t have that in this here “Christian State” of ours (theocracy anyone?). Okay, enough politics. But you see how quickly this shit can affect something someone wants to do, yes? Even when what they’re doing isn’t illegal and concerns FICTIONAL WRITINGS.

So I’ll be posting under another name, which sucks for me. But we’ll see how things go with the story. It’s a short story — like twenty thousand words or so — that was rejected by a company I submitted it to. Of course, they couldn’t be bothered to keep enough control over their people, and the person who rejected it was fired — and they lost my story in the shuffle. Nice, eh?

I hope that you and yours enjoy the holiday season. I have every intention of doing just that. But I will leave you with these last thoughts:

“When did the future become a threat instead of a promise?”

“All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.”

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Avatar for the Holidays

  1. David says:

    Greetings. Normally, I wouldn’t nitpick like this,but the following excerpt from the latest chapter of “Avatar” just seemed like such a blatant error, I was surprised that it slipped past your editor. It ewad as follows:

    “He thought that Heinlein, who’s books he was still reading, must have been some sort of profit.”

    That really should have read “prophet”, not “profit”.
    Despite the obvious flaw, it has been good to see you return to a story that sat dormant for far too long. Thank you for continuing the story.

  2. dracor says:

    Hi
    Still looking for someone to design your cover? I’m a freelance artist, who might be able to help out.

    • Dark Pen says:

      I am, actually. I mean, I have one person who will do it, who is also a free lance artist. It’s most likely I’ll go with him, but do you have any examples of your work up anywhere?

Leave a Reply

