Life and Writing

Time is apparently a thing with me. I just noticed the other day that it had literally been YEARS since I’d done a blog post. Kinda crazy.

This blog starts with some of what has happened in my personal life, then goes on to the part about writing and Avatar. Feel free to skip ahead, if you want.

So, what have I been doing? Well, I can tell you that much of the time since my last post has been filled with a fair amount of illness. Not cancer, thankfully, but there are other diseases that aren’t cancer that can still reach out and destroy your life a piece at a time. My wife and I are fighting through it and things seem to be getting a bit better. At least they’re to the point where we are both reaching out and trying to emerge from the isolation we’ve been living in.

Work has, of course, been a huge disappointment. I realized recently (I’m apparently a bit slow) that it really has little to do with the actual job. I rather dislike writing software – a lot, at this point. But I could be happy doing it if I could find the right place TO do it.  I’m searching, but it ain’t easy, that’s for sure.

Anyway, for me, Corporate American is not that place. As I’ve learned, once the corporate types come in and take over a company (as they have where I’m working now), they destroy it. Thankfully, where I’m working now still isn’t nearly as bad as the hell hole I spent all those other years in, but it’s still getting there. So I’m looking for a new job this time, although I don’t have any illusions that what ever new place I find will be better. But since in Corporate America, you can’t actually get a raise anymore, if you want more money, you have to change jobs. And I not only want, but kinda need, more money at this point.

I’m trying to find a way to use the software skills I have in a non-corporate environment, but both my physical local and the fact that I need to maintain a high level of benefits, reduces my options rather sharply. Worse, as the years have passed, I, like so many in the middle class, are finding that the rich are destroying us. No matter how hard I seem to work, I fall further behind every year.

Okay enough of that shit — on to writing. I have a ton of crap in my scrap pile at this point and I still work on Avatar on occasion. I’m actively trying to make working on Avatar more than an occasional thing because I really do want to finish book two. Life will sabotage you however, unless you’re really focused, and it’s often quite hard to fight through that. I’m still about ten chapters past where I’ve posted, so that’s something. I’m also trying to think through some decent plots of a couple of other books, like, for instance, another Sex Witch book. I kinda liked that world and have a ton of ideas for it.

This all brings me to Patreon. I was kinda shocked to find that I had a patron. I tweeted about it, and discovered that two more people signed up right after. I immediately wanted to put up something, ANYTHING, so that these folks wouldn’t think I was ignoring them. Thing is, I didn’t want them to feel ripped off so I couldn’t just throw something up there and charge them for it.

I’ve been thinking about how I should do this Patreon thing, and for now, what I think I’m going to do is set up two levels. The first level is just about Avatar support. You pledge a dollar per chapter, and every time I post a chapter, you’re asked to pay your pledge. Now I think it’s important to keep in mind that you can (and should) limit your dollar amount per month. So if somehow I posted like, 20 chapters of Avatar in a month, and you pledged a dollar per chapter, you will only be charged up to your limit for that month (a dollar, two, whatever you decide). So… one dollar per chapter. There’s a link to my Patreon on the sidebar there. Don’t worry if there’s no listing on Patreon about the pledge levels — I’ll go in as soon as I can to set that up. And remember, you are ALWAYS in control of how much you spend.

The people who have already pledged aren’t pledging at a dollar per writing — they’re pledging more than that. I’m kinda shocked and very grateful. For those people I will probably charge when I post an Avatar chapter, but I will also post something else I’m writing that only they’ll be able to see. Perhaps it’ll be a chapter of two of a book I’m thinking of writing. Perhaps I’ll post, chapter by chapter an entire book and it’ll be up on Patreon before I put it up for sale on my regular site. I would love to give these folks (and the ones who pledge a dollar) the Avatar chapter before it goes up in the general public, but that, I think would be unwise considering who some of the characters are. As I’ve noted ad nauseam, Americans are really hypocritical assholes when it comes to sex — even totally fictitious sex. Well, many of them — my fans all rock.

About Dark Pen

I am Dark Pen. I write BDSM stories, almost always with plot and consider myself a Soldier in the battle against America's war on sex.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

